We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice quiet, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice quiet, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a nice quiet, clean hotel. Not the most modern, like all Holiday Inn Express hotels. They need a makeover. Shower was excellent and the breakfast was great. All of the hotels near Valley View and Interstate-81 sell out. I was fortunate to find this and it was not a bad place. This was one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels, but they need to remodel to keep modern and upgrade the electrical outlets at the desk and nightstand.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    40
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
42
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a delightful stay for us, as the staff were exemplary, the rooms were very clean, the free breakfast was delicious, and we got to work out at the Y-Express for free...can't beat that! The front desk staff were some of the nicest I've ever met for a hotel, and I do quite a bit of traveling. This means a lot, as the front desk staff can make all the difference in the world to whether or not you enjoy your overall experience. I so appreciate this in more ways than I can "express"! Roanoke was beautiful too, and the downtown area was just minutes away and easy to access. I will stay here again, and will recommend this to my friends and colleagues!

Room Tip: They are all good! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Friendly, Happy Outgoing Front desk staff were great after a long days travel to get to Roanoke. After a long couple of days working locally being met by nice friendly desk staff. The rooms were great, breakfast was great. I stay here every time I come to Roanoke.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We came to Roanoke from Philadelphia to visit some family. We had a great time while visiting them. The Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Civic Center was awesome! The rooms were very clean and tidy, the staff was great (we needed alot of directions! and they were very helpful) and the breakfast was so yummy every morning! This will be our "go to hotel" when we visit Roanoke again in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Express-Roanoke, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thanks for your review! We appreciated you choosing Holiday Inn Express Roanoke during your stay in Roanoke. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappan, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here on a tour. The rooms were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The front desk was extremely helpful. My friend and I asked if it was okay to walk in the neighborhood. The man at the front desk told us about a green path that starts at the hotel and goes for .6 of a mile each way. It was a lovely walk. If you continue, you can actually walk into town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Express-Roanoke, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! Being centrally located in Roanoke with a greenway path right at our doorstep is one of our best features!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel was like other HIEs we have stayed at, with good breakfast, and a comfortable place to stay. One of the main concerns we had with this one, was that it is not located very centrally in Roanoke and not near any restaurants or shopping areas. It is, however, right off the Interstate. The other was that there was no laundry, which was not very good after we had been traveling for seven days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Express-Roanoke, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're happy your enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Civic Center. I understand we may have been a bit further from where you wanted to be in Ro0anoke but since we are located close to downtown Roanoke we are centrally located in Roanoke where everything is about within 10-15 minutes away at the most. We will be adding a new gust laundry to the hotel later year along with a lot of other upgrades to our lobby and guest rooms. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Hotel is just outside of downtown across the street from a "not so nice" area. To the point of having a security guard posted in the lobby over night. Does NOT look like photo. Very substandard for a Holiday Inn Express. I don't know where the positive reviews are coming from. They must be from staff, friends or simply people who haven't stayed in many hotels. The price was way too high for this place. $129.00, but everything in the area was booked.
Last time in Roanoke I stayed at the Hotel Roanoke by Doubletree. $119.00 a night and one of the nicest hotels I have ever seen. I would spend more to stay there if I had to. I do staff have to add, the staff here was very nice and professional.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Donovan D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the value prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see your comments about the friendly and helpful staff. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Address: 815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express- Roanoke Civic Center. We are conveniently located on the edge of Historic Downtown Roanoke, within two miles of the Center in the Square and the Farmer's Market. Located only 1 block from the Raonke Civic Center, five minutes from the airport, and five minutes from Valley View Mall. Several restaurants within close driving distance. 13.3% Tax rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.