We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We came to Roanoke from Philadelphia to visit some family. We had a great time while visiting them. The Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Civic Center was awesome! The rooms were very clean and tidy, the staff was great (we needed alot of directions! and they were very helpful) and the breakfast was so yummy every morning! This will be our "go to hotel" when we visit Roanoke again in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Express-Roanoke, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thanks for your review! We appreciated you choosing Holiday Inn Express Roanoke during your stay in Roanoke. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
38
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tappan, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here on a tour. The rooms were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The front desk was extremely helpful. My friend and I asked if it was okay to walk in the neighborhood. The man at the front desk told us about a green path that starts at the hotel and goes for .6 of a mile each way. It was a lovely walk. If you continue, you can actually walk into town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Express-Roanoke, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon! Being centrally located in Roanoke with a greenway path right at our doorstep is one of our best features!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel was like other HIEs we have stayed at, with good breakfast, and a comfortable place to stay. One of the main concerns we had with this one, was that it is not located very centrally in Roanoke and not near any restaurants or shopping areas. It is, however, right off the Interstate. The other was that there was no laundry, which was not very good after we had been traveling for seven days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Express-Roanoke, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're happy your enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Civic Center. I understand we may have been a bit further from where you wanted to be in Ro0anoke but since we are located close to downtown Roanoke we are centrally located in Roanoke where everything is about within 10-15 minutes away at the most. We will be adding a new gust laundry to the hotel later year along with a lot of other upgrades to our lobby and guest rooms. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Hotel is just outside of downtown across the street from a "not so nice" area. To the point of having a security guard posted in the lobby over night. Does NOT look like photo. Very substandard for a Holiday Inn Express. I don't know where the positive reviews are coming from. They must be from staff, friends or simply people who haven't stayed in many hotels. The price was way too high for this place. $129.00, but everything in the area was booked.
Last time in Roanoke I stayed at the Hotel Roanoke by Doubletree. $119.00 a night and one of the nicest hotels I have ever seen. I would spend more to stay there if I had to. I do staff have to add, the staff here was very nice and professional.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Donovan D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the value prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see your comments about the friendly and helpful staff. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My family stayed there as part of a very large group visiting Roanoke for a weekend event. The beds were terrible squeaking every time someone moved. We asked for another room but the only room available was smaller for more money so we asked for a roll away. The attendant said one would be brought while we were out for the day. After returning late that night we entered the room and found no roll away. The only solution we had was to put the mattress on the floor to try and get some sleep. We could have stayed at a better hotel cheaper but didnt expecting the roll away. There was not a manager at night to ask for assistance leaving only powerless front desk staff. The staff was nice but not helpful. Other guests were discussing the same issue in their room so its not an isolated room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear travel476,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Roanoke.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure coast of Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

After a 700 mile plus drive, we were really, ready for a comfortable stop. This Holiday Inn Express fit the bill. It is located close off the exit of route 77 ( easy access) but quiet. The reception staff were very accommodating and helped us with several requests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had to stop in there on 2/12 for 1 night because a very bad snow situation. We were on our way to Florida. What a nice reception, friendly front desk people! The rooms were very clean, spacious with a nice bathroom, wireless, and flat screen TV. We just went to our room and said - let it snow let it snow let it snow. It was a quiet night, comfortable bed etc. The hot breakfast in the morning was wonderful. We wanted to get on in the morning and everything was loaded up with snow, They had people out there to help us get the car shoveled out. The Manager ( Daniel Fisher) was very very helpful, got a broom for us to clear the top etc. of the car. One can not ask for more. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Address: 815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express- Roanoke Civic Center. We are conveniently located on the edge of Historic Downtown Roanoke, within two miles of the Center in the Square and the Farmer's Market. Located only 1 block from the Raonke Civic Center, five minutes from the airport, and five minutes from Valley View Mall. Several restaurants within close driving distance. 12.0% tax rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.