We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable & Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Treasure coast of Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable & Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

After a 700 mile plus drive, we were really, ready for a comfortable stop. This Holiday Inn Express fit the bill. It is located close off the exit of route 77 ( easy access) but quiet. The reception staff were very accommodating and helped us with several requests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
37
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Mass.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had to stop in there on 2/12 for 1 night because a very bad snow situation. We were on our way to Florida. What a nice reception, friendly front desk people! The rooms were very clean, spacious with a nice bathroom, wireless, and flat screen TV. We just went to our room and said - let it snow let it snow let it snow. It was a quiet night, comfortable bed etc. The hot breakfast in the morning was wonderful. We wanted to get on in the morning and everything was loaded up with snow, They had people out there to help us get the car shoveled out. The Manager ( Daniel Fisher) was very very helpful, got a broom for us to clear the top etc. of the car. One can not ask for more. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip. I was pleased with how clean it was and how friendly the staff was. I loved the location which was only a few blocks from downtown which is where I needed to go for business. I also enjoyed the fact that it had easy access on and off all the major highways. The continental breakfast was typical but the pancakes were actually really good. Say no to the bacon, sausage and the eggs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I were surprised at how nice this hotel was. We found it on Hotwire, and were expecting something seedy. Not so. Our room was large and clean. The entire place seemed newly renovated. The bed and pillows were amazing. Brooke at the front desk had great dinner suggestions and was very accommodating. We would not hesitate to return.

On a related note, do not use Hotwire. They inflate the average hotel price so that it looks like you're saving more. Very deceitful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed here for one night in conjunction with attending a concert at the Civic Center auditorium. I was able to get a AAA rate of $105. The hotel offers the usual amenities offered with a HI Express.

I chose this hotel so I could walk to and from the Civic Center. There is a path that starts at the corner of the property and it only takes 10 minutes to walk to the Civic Center.

As stated by others, the hotel staff is very friendly and efficient. They provided a map of downtown Roanoke and pointed out my restaurant choice on the map for me.

The only negative I encountered was just a minor problem in room cleanliness....and it was in looking up at one corner of the room where a cobweb had formed between the two walls and the ceiling. It's not that big of a deal but it makes you wonder what else is being missed. The housekeeping staff may want to not only look down and at eye-level but also inspect the whole room for cleanliness. Other than that, the bed was clean and comfortable and everything in the bath seemed in working order and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear thunderfan,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. We would like to apologize for the room accommodations you had was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Va
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were attending a conference at the Hotel Roanoke, which was far too expensive. This was a 12-minute walk from the conference. The location was very convenient. Good breakfast was included and free wifi. At less than $100 per night, the Holiday Inn Express was a great bargain.

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed here, the first time was in August 2013 and we are so happy we found this hotel! The front desk staff is very friendly, sweet and accomodating, and check-in took all of 2 minutes which was welcome after 8 hours on the road. Rooms are spotless, beds are comfortable and the hotel is only a few minutes' drive to downtown Roanoke. We stay in Roanoke 2-4 times a year and this is now our hotel of choice. Thank you Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Civic Center!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Address: 815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express- Roanoke Civic Center. We are conveniently located on the edge of Historic Downtown Roanoke, within two miles of the Center in the Square and the Farmer's Market. Located only 1 block from the Raonke Civic Center, five minutes from the airport, and five minutes from Valley View Mall. Several restaurants within close driving distance. 12.0% tax rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.