We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday express, roanoke, va” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“holiday express, roanoke, va”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

decent place to stay. room off the street was very quiet, hotel was very clean and the staff was great. Not bad breakfast and the coffee was good too. convenient location near the hwy and airport was about 10 mins away or less...I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: pick a room opposite the freeway, then it's all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
37
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located to the airport and downtown. The hotel is kept clean and the bed was very comfortable,. The breakfast is fair, but the breakfast area is very small, and gets backed up on the weekend. The best part of our stay has been the front desk staff. They have been extremely helpful and friendly, going out of their way to help us. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Thank you Crystal Housman for the excellent and professional service. Very informative staff and very welcoming. Holiday Inn need to move you to regional so you can show them how it's done. Close to everything. Pool hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

As part of our trip we journeyed from the coast to the Apulachians & The Blue Ridge parkway. This hotel is well situated to visit this area as you can join the Parkway just a short way up the road. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the rooms were very spacious. A buffet breakfast is included in the price and this was very nice with good choice of food. Downtown Roanoke is a reasonable walk away and what a surprise it was so busy &vibrant, loads of restaurants to choose from, all very lively. Good place to stay if visiting the Blue Ridge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed the night on our way back from the Smokies and visited the Virginia Safari next morning before heading home. The area was very nice, close to restaurants and downtown. It was the day of the HOG meeting and downtown was busy, very different from how I remember Roanoke from 10 years ago. The hotel was also very nice, rooms were clean, with the one problem that our bathroom door needed to be adjusted - it would not close easily. The pool was nice, although across the parking lot and pool towels had to be picked up at the front desk. Beds were comfortable and rooms were quiet. Breakfast was adequate, nothing exciting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a nice facility.

Staff during check in was efficient and helpful. We arrived a little early and they were very accommodating.

The room was nice - plenty of working space. The beds were comfy and the decor up-to-date.

Bathroom was clean and the towels big and soft.

Only fly in the ointment was calling the front desk at 9 p.m. to arrange a wake up call (no way to do this without using the front desk staff). After calling several times and intervals I finally gave up and used my cellphone to dial the main number. After 3 rings the telephone was answered. I explained my situation - the staff member simply said that yes, I needed to call the front desk to arrange a wakeup call. At no time during the call did the staff member refer to the fact that she had not answer the in-house telephone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New River Gorge, WV
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited to see the Avett Brothers in concert at the Civic Center & this was very convenient. There is a paved walkway by the hotel to the civic center. I was a little leery using it to walk back to the hotel as I was by myself and the walkway is not lit at night, but there were lots of people walking back to the hotel after the concert. I had room with 1 bed, loveseat which was nice for watching TV, desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker. It was clean and quiet. Continental breakfast included pancakes, gravy, biscuits, danish, juice, bagels, toast, cereal, oatmeal, coffee. Great stay & I would definitely stay again for any future concerts in Roanoke.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Address: 815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express- Roanoke Civic Center. We are conveniently located on the edge of Historic Downtown Roanoke, within two miles of the Center in the Square and the Farmer's Market. Located only 1 block from the Raonke Civic Center, five minutes from the airport, and five minutes from Valley View Mall. Several restaurants within close driving distance. 12.0% tax rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.