We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

While visiting the blue ridge parkway it's in a convenient location. The hotel is a little bit old, but nice and clean. Spacious room with 2 king-size beds. Flat T.V screen, small refrigerator, microwave oven, Coffee/tea facilities. A little bit too close to the highway, you can hear the traffic in the room. The breakfast area is small, just next to the reception/lobby, OK for a quick bite in the morning. Efficient check in and check out. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
39
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while on a family motorcycle trip down the blue ridge parkway. It was a little tricky to find, but the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice, perhaps showing a little wear, but we had a good nights sleep and a pretty good continental breakfast in the morning before heading back up on the mountain.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The stay was average. The room was clean. Our entrance however was where the smokers hung out so we had to walk thru that smell daily. The hotel is a great location for downtown as it is minutes away. Breakfast was the squeeze play as they had very little room to eat. This was not how the hotel was set-up to run and the breakfast nook was jammed in as an after thought.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear wbyrnes2,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you liked our convenient location.

However, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and discomfort our breakfast area has caused you.

Rest assured your comments will be taken into consideration for future improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have to believe that there are much better choices in this area for accommodations This HI Express is pretty dated and average. The per night price was a lot even for a graduation weekend. The hotel appears to be a retrofit from a prior brand and it shows.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear dmbkDallasTX,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we strive to provide competitive rates within the area. I'm deeply sorry that we fell below your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apology if your stay was negatively affected by the overall condition of our hotel. Your input will be shared with our management team to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Was in town for Liberty University commencement and had to stay in Roanoke because all the hotels in Lynchburg were booked. Plus Lynchburg hotels had more than tripled their rates due to the influx of people in town, so it was recommended that we may the 45 min. trip to Roanoke. Being unfamiliar with the area, I chose to go with the Holiday Inn brand because I know they have recently renovated most of their hotels, so took a chance on this one without checking the reviews. Boy, was I surprised when I walked in to this location and saw how dated everything was from the exterior to the lobby. However, was left with little choice not to book a room because options were few due to the fact that Roanoke had received the massive overflow of visitors in town for graduation. If that was not enough, the desk clerk was very bland and not-so-friendly and impatient to say the least when I started asking about their rating and conditions of their rooms. When I asked to view the two rooms before I booked them, she was not a happy camper. I politely let her know that although I was desperate and tired from a long exhausting trip, I would not pay until I saw the rooms. Longer story short, the room, bed, and bathrooms were decent in terms of cleanliness, did see a few ants, but nothing to complain about. With that being said, the rooms themselves were extremely dated. No way was I taking my socks/shoes off on that carpet! Since it was only for one night, I bared the stay. However, if I had a choice, would not ever book it again unless they updated their property. My final rating will be average because all things considered for someone who is not picky, this is a convenient location coming in from Lynchburg, it's near restaurants and other amenities, and it's affordable.

Room Tip: Request to see rooms upon arrival before booking, if possible. Also, bring Lysol to freshen up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear JaxsonS_11,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. It is good to know that you found our location adequate. However, please accept my apology for the service and condition of the room that you have received which is not up to your par. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

If you're coming for a Conference this is a nice hotel. There is an atrium with an indoor pool and sauna. Breakfast came with our room and it was your average buffet. Certainly adequate. The rooms are a bit dated but the bedding was new and the room and bathroom was clean. The downtown areas was easy to get to and there is shopping nearby with a variety of restaurants. If I hadn't been booked here for a Conference I would have looked around. There were several newer hotels nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for three nights while in Roanoke for business. Rooms are very clean, the breakfast bar was nicely kept, the location surprising quiet for fairly close to downtown and the interstate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Address: 815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express- Roanoke Civic Center. We are conveniently located on the edge of Historic Downtown Roanoke, within two miles of the Center in the Square and the Farmer's Market. Located only 1 block from the Raonke Civic Center, five minutes from the airport, and five minutes from Valley View Mall. Several restaurants within close driving distance. 12.0% tax rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.