We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Clean and nice, but I did wake up with two bug bites on my face the next morning :(

Probably spiders cause I didn't see bed-bugs (I looked, trust me). Overall, I liked it and would recommend it, but I do suggest that maybe the hotel could double check behind the bed for spiders?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Barbara F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
37
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I'm not sure the bed was clean! I took a mediocre shower and the bed smelled just...dirty. I noticed in the morning that there was one very tired, poorly dressed housekeeper with a bad attitude. Disappointed that there were not printing or faxing services (no business center). Very basic place. Breakfast looked fresh, although I didn't have any. Aside from the cleanliness issue in the room, the ladies at the front desk were pleasant. Parking lot was a little too dark.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Rubia-numbero-dos,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our front desk.

However, We’re sorry you received poor service from our front desk and for the uncomfortable bed. Your feedback will certainly be looked into and I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham -Alabama
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My church group and I stayed at this property two nights as part of a round-trip to New York City. It has an old and tired feel, and it is "bare basics". This property is not up to Holiday Inn Express standards, the rooms were small, and it is located in a questionable neighborhood. On a more positive note, the breakfast had fresh fruit, although I do miss the waffle maker that is standard in most Holiday Inn Express properties. I would book a room elsewhere in this area.

Room Tip: This is only a three story property; there are no rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear TrojanBill1,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad you liked the fresh fruit available in our breakfast area. We appreciate the feedback we receive as it is crucial to improve the products and services we offer.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel/rooms were very nice, the staff was accommodating to my studio of dancers who stayed there for a competition, and breakfast was great. However, I would suggest checking your room upon arrival for sticky traps near the heat unit. When I was leaving I found one hidden beside the unit blocked from view by the curtains. When my husband picked it up he found a dead mouse inside. I went to the front desk and told management, they refunded $50 of my stay, however they insisted that the traps were to catch stink bugs and the mouse in mine must have ran in the door since my room was on ground level. A likely story. I will stay there again due to the proximity of the civic center, however, this year I will be inspecting my room from top to bottom before unpacking. I would love to rate this place with an Excellent cleanliness rating, but since I found a decomposing mouse in my room I can't do that. It should be noted that other parts of the rooms and hotel were extremely clean

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is the bare basics and is in need of an update. We had two double beds and one of the beds was unusable because it squeaked terribly if you got near it, it felt like it would collapse at any minute. One day our room never got cleaned and we had to get fresh towels from the front desk. Not too emotion that the part of town this is in is the worst area of town, so beware. Front desk people were very mic however.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We were only in town 1 night for a conference. It was a very pleasant experience. They had overbooked so they offered a king room at a 15% discount off the price of the 2 queen bed room we had booked. It was fine with us since it was my daughter & I & the room was very spacious and clean. They were very accommodating when I called a few days ahead to request early checkin. The hotel was nice & quiet & not that far from Civic Center. Room had refrigerator & microwave. I would stay there again. Front desk personnel were very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stay at HIEX more often than not, and this one is nice, if a bit small. Friendly staff, clean, quiet, and very comfortable beds. Exceptionally helpful and kind staff in the breakfast area! I would have liked more variety of the breakfasts-I stayed 3 nights and it was the same each morning-but it was hot and plentiful. There are good sized parking lots in front and in back. Good location, but if you use a GPS, make sure you are very specific-ours took us the wrong way when I put the address in myself (instead of letting the GPS find it via the lodging option). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Address: 815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express- Roanoke Civic Center. We are conveniently located on the edge of Historic Downtown Roanoke, within two miles of the Center in the Square and the Farmer's Market. Located only 1 block from the Raonke Civic Center, five minutes from the airport, and five minutes from Valley View Mall. Several restaurants within close driving distance. 12.0% tax rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.