We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We were only in town 1 night for a conference. It was a very pleasant experience. They had overbooked so they offered a king room at a 15% discount off the price of the 2 queen bed room we had booked. It was fine with us since it was my daughter & I & the room was very spacious and clean. They were very accommodating when I called a few days ahead to request early checkin. The hotel was nice & quiet & not that far from Civic Center. Room had refrigerator & microwave. I would stay there again. Front desk personnel were very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
37
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stay at HIEX more often than not, and this one is nice, if a bit small. Friendly staff, clean, quiet, and very comfortable beds. Exceptionally helpful and kind staff in the breakfast area! I would have liked more variety of the breakfasts-I stayed 3 nights and it was the same each morning-but it was hot and plentiful. There are good sized parking lots in front and in back. Good location, but if you use a GPS, make sure you are very specific-ours took us the wrong way when I put the address in myself (instead of letting the GPS find it via the lodging option). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I was surprised to pay $170 for a hotel in such a 'remote' location. I was fine paying the price but expected the hotel to live up to the price paid. On first entering the room I turned on the light to the most obnoxious fluorescent lighting. I'm all about sustainability, but were the cheap lights that made the room feel like an aquarium. What was worse, was they buzzed like an aquarium light too.
I approached the front desk and asked that they replace the worst buzzing light with a new lightbulb, and the nice gentleman told me he would look for a light and get back to me. An hour later, no news, no lightbulb, and I decided I didn't want to be a complainer, so I turned off the light and settled in to watch TV. Beds were plenty comfortable.

Next morning got into the shower and was pretty disgusted with the tile. It has that pink scum in the grout... The kind I get at home when I don't clean the shower for a couple weeks!!! Gross!!!

I won't be traveling through Roanoke any time soon, but if I were, this holiday inn express would be my last choice for a hotel.

For the experience, it reminded me of a $70 a night hotel, and even at that rate I would expect a clean shower!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Atari1980,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to read you found the bed comfortable, however, it is disappointing to read that you were not satisfied with the room accommodation. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the unusual condition of the room, particularly the light and the shower. I would like to assure you that we take each comment seriously as it has always been the goal of our hotel to deliver only the best quality services and facilities. Your feedback will be forwarded to the departments involved to address your concerns.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here by myself for business. I hade never been to the area but the hotel was easy to find. Right off a main route. The front desk was very friendly and helpful to point me in the direction of food and other activities. The room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was tasty, especially the fresh cinnamon rolls. Suited my needs very well

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night. Reception staff both pleasant and helpful. Room was fine, breakfast was fine and included in the very reasonable price we got for an advance purchase. Quiet, we appreciated 24 hour availability of drinks, bed comfortable. This was the best night's sleep we had had in a while. Location was further from downtown than we expected but we were still able to walk to the centre to eat in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here on our way to DC. It was cheap but that quickly showed in the quality of our stay. The hotel staff was very friendly, which is the only pro I saw here. The building looks old and outdated. The rooms look and feel the same way. This hotel is in a desperate need for renovations. There was a flying cockroach in our room, which flew up from near the air conditioning unit, flew over the bed, and eventually landed in the bathroom. If you turn on the bathroom fan, it releases some sort of latex-like smell, which smells toxic. There isn't "hot" water in the shower, it's luke warm. The side entrances to the building would not lock. A hotel should always have 3 things: safety, cleanliness and a friendly staff, and this place only had one (friendly staff). Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear nytraveller38,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly staff. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, we are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced due to the condition of the property, bathroom amenities and overall cleanliness. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed there on our way to Florida. It's cheap. We had a suite. It's small, cramped. The bed is really, really hard. It's a 2* hotel. The service at the reception is really good, though. That's the only good thing about this hotel. Won't stay there again...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear jodanick,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I appreciate the positive comment about our services, however, I am sorry that you found our bed hard. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Address: 815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express- Roanoke Civic Center. We are conveniently located on the edge of Historic Downtown Roanoke, within two miles of the Center in the Square and the Farmer's Market. Located only 1 block from the Raonke Civic Center, five minutes from the airport, and five minutes from Valley View Mall. Several restaurants within close driving distance. 12.0% tax rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.