We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a cheap night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6520 Thirlane Road, I-81 Exit 143/I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
King George, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OK for a cheap night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Howard Johnson in Roanoke, VA has seen better days. I stayed for 2 nights when volunteering in the area for the weekend; my room was paid by the organization I was helping.

Postives: The linens on the bed were clean. The bed was acceptable. Price was low. Room had a microwave and refrigerator/freezer. Great location next to interstate.

Negatives: Refrigerator and freezer doors were open; freezer had 2 inch thick layer of frost that prevented the door from closing. Stained carpets. Holes in the wall. No clock. TV cables strung in the air with a hole drilled in an interior wall. TV was unplugged both days by housekeeping in order to plug in their vacuum; however, they didn't plug the TV back in (shows the general attitude of the place). I got soap but no shampoo the first night; the second night housekeeping left me shampoo but no soap (and took away the remainder of the bar from the previous night). Room had a safe that had the lock mechanism punched out. Bright light outside room and thin curtains.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    32
    48
    108
See reviews for
79
28
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The staff were very nice and accomadating. The room was older not recently updated but everything was in great working order. It was very quiet and the king bed was very comfortable. The room cost was very cheap compared to other motel/hotels in the area. Overall it was a great stay for us and our 2 cats.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

For an overnite this place was fine. If one is looking to stay here for an extended stay, I wouldn't recommend it. It was clean, but a little run down. The location was perfect to get on/off the highway. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Over all I had a very pleasant stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, they even let me check in early. It was really helpful to allowed to check it early, because I work nights in the area but live a few hours away. The staff recommend places for lunch/dinner that would deliver, for my convenience. My room was clean, again the staff went out of their way to give me a room away for the road, it had a king size bed with a nice comfortable pillow top mattress. For a weekend I found it to be very quiet and relaxing. This hotel is decently priced for the area, and I stay here again. I even know the room I will request.

Room Tip: Rooms on office side back corner away for the road are the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Pleasantly suprised for the price. Clean, quiet and close to all interstates. On business here for a month. Two weeks in, heater problem, was fixed in 30 minutes. Staff has been great. Well lit, safe and secure. You could pay alot more for things you won't use but I have a budget. Just what I needed. John C.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport

Address: 6520 Thirlane Road, I-81 Exit 143/I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport Hotel Roanoke
Ramada Limited Roanoke
Roanoke Ramada
Ramada Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.