We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6520 Thirlane Road, I-81 Exit 143/I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Reading, Pa
1 review
“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Since my husband and I are heavy smokers I reserved a smoking room. On checking in we were sent to a room that had no sheets on the bed - clean or dirty. Since no other smoking rooms were available we were given a non-smoking room and told it was okay to smoke in there. The bathroom door did not close and the sink and toilet were for LITTLE PEOPLE! I am only 4'11" but these were too low for me. Terribly rundown overall. The location was ideal and the price was right but I would drive further and pay more for an acceptable room. This place needs to be gutted and done over.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    46
    64
    134
See reviews for
106
37
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Well I must start off by saying that the manager was great and helpful and very friendly! But I would like a couple more pillows in the room and new tubs, definitely...(although the water pressure was great) and newer sheets and comforters too and cleaner around the sink area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My room smelled like urine and old cigarettes. There were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and around the edges of the room. This HoJo's needs some serious remodeling. It is old and the room curtains are cracked and torn as is the peeling ceiling in some parts. The wall paper border is peeling as well. We had stayed in another room a year ago and although old, it was nothing like this!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The rooms had mole on them and an undesribably smell. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The manager of the hotel was rude and unprofessional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#12 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport

Address: 6520 Thirlane Road, I-81 Exit 143/I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport Hotel Roanoke
Ramada Limited Roanoke
Roanoke Ramada
Ramada Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Roanoke/Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.