We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ritz” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Roanoke

Super 8 Roanoke
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Roanoke to your Saves list
Super 8 Roanoke
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6616 Thirlane Road, I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
LIBERTY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not the Ritz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel is well worn but over all it seems that an effort is being made to improve. For example the rooms coat of paint was up to date. Our room was clean but my daughters room had dirt on the towels and mold along the edge of the tub. Our tub did show evidence of black mold but not as much. The room seemed clean over-all. We did have a slight leak in a supply line to the toilet which I told them about when checking out. The hall had a musty smell as there are smoking rooms available which I blame the smell on, right or wrong. Over-all for the money you really can not complain as we did not pay 5 star prices. The staff seemed quite willing to take care of problems and seemed to be very friendly. We stayed 2 nights and it was quiet both nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie R, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We are currently making upgrades to the motel. We do offer limited smoking rooms at this motel, which could account for the smell. I do apologize. Your review has been sent to the manager so it can be handled properly with housekeeping. I hope overall you enjoyed your stay and will return. Thank you for your feedback,
Georgie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    43
    34
    14
See reviews for
41
36
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbeville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

An Asian owned hotel by a proprietor who seems professional and accommodating. Budget priced with no serious deficiencies other then a few cosmetic issues in bathroom, (cracking drywall beside sink / tub and also on ceiling) Room furnishings including carpet seem to be quite worn, but everything WAS clean and the shower worked great! A basic continental breakfast is offered in a clean, private room. A 24hr. Waffle House is also located in the adjacent parking lot. Definitely not honeymoon or celebrating accommodations here but considering the $45 rate I would return!
(Located 15 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway off I -581)

Room Tip: All rooms are accessed from the interior hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie R, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We appreciate your positive feedback for staying at our property. In the near future, we are planning on upgrading property since the new management has taken over. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thank you,
Georgie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Motel location seems to be a dangerous part of town. Toilet was cracked, Hall reeks of cigarette smoke. Seems to attract workers rather than tourists or families.
Would not recommend to a friend. Below standard for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
We do greatly appreciate your business, and are sorry to hear that you feel the motel is below par for the money paid for the room. We do look forward to being able to serve you again in the future and hopefully you'll see that we do everything possible to ensure the safety of our guest and staff here, and that our customer service is exceptional.
Thanks again.
Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Roanoke

Address: 6616 Thirlane Road, I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Roanoke 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Super Eight Roanoke
Roanoke Super Eight
Roanoke Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.