We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Convenient and Cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Roanoke to your Saves list
Super 8 Roanoke
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Roanoke
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6616 Thirlane Road, I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean Convenient and Cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hotel is located right off Rte 581 exit 2. There are a group of hotels in the same area typical hiway type clustering.

Room was more than adequate - relatively clean - about what you would expect for a $45 a night hotel. The manager Mr Patel was very nice, when I asked about the ice machine not working he apologized and got me some ice from the kitchen.

The room is quiet - air worked - fridge worked - I have stayed at way worse.

Nice restaurant across the street "El Toreo" Decent food there too

All in all a decent 1 night stay over when going from here to there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, General Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hello Mr.Pastor
We appreciate your business and very happy that your stay at our Motel was pleasant. Thank you for taking your time out to input the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    38
    27
    12
See reviews for
37
32
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I realize this is a budget hotel but was disappointed in the cleaniness. The bathroom tub and toilet were not clean. There was a used washcloth n the shower curtain rail and the mirror had splatters on it. It was nice to have a refrigerator but it needed to be wiped out. The carpet appeared to be new so that was a bonus. The ice machine was on the fritz. I brought all this to the attention of the manager and he reduced my bill which I thought was a god business decision. The staff was friendly and helpful but I was put off by the dirty areas in he room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, General Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Hi Joan
Since you pointed out the issue of cleanliness we took serious action on housekeeper and fired her for poor job! I do apologize and also reduce your bill to help out on your frustration. The ice machine got fixed one part was bad. And thankful for compliment on our friendly staff. Hope to serve you in a better way in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I booked my non smoking rooms online and was told I had two smoking rooms. The manager told me he was all booked and would give me some air freshner if I wanted it. I went to check out the room and it was bad. It took hours to get the smell out of my clothes. I returned to the front dest and recieved a refund. I was not pleased at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Hello
I do apologize about your visit at our Motel during that busy weekend when we were sold out. Honestly i tell every customer about this issue once you book online through third party reservation we cannot do any changes to this reservation they are blocked reservation so no changes or update we can do at property. The best way to save all this hassle and frustration customer should contact directly to property for booking and their request get right answer. Unfortunately your reservation was made by online on very busy time we do feel sorry that couldn't help out on your trip. Hope in future you do contact directly to property about your reservation. Thank you for your review so we can help more out to customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is nasty. There were so many things that did not work or were broken, including the lock on the door and the smoke detector. The hair dryer was partially melted, the toilet leaked, It was a miserable 2 day stay. When we arrived there my husband went to check in and asked to use the restroom as we had been travelling a long way and he was told there is no public restroom. He ended up having an accident. It was just awful. We have stayed at super 8 before in other areas and they have always been clean, This one was not. There was a soda can in the floor and some BB's. I dont think the vaccuum had been run for weeks. It was also more expensive by twice than the other area hotels. Awful awful we will not stay at a super 8 again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee F, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Sorry to hear that you had bad experience at our property. You should have right away notified the front desk and had switch the room and we can notified Maint. dept and house keeping dept. to fix the issues in the room. We apologize and in future would love to serve you and every customer in a better way only if you let us know right away about the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Roanoke

Address: 6616 Thirlane Road, I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Roanoke 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Super Eight Roanoke
Roanoke Super Eight
Roanoke Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.