We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad refrigerator” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Roanoke to your Saves list
Super 8 Roanoke
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Roanoke
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6616 Thirlane Road, I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Menifee
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Bad refrigerator”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was our final night's stay on a trip from California to Pennsylvania. The staff was friendly and helpful. Especially when we had to call the front desk because our refrigerator was not working. They tried fixing it and finally had to replace it with another. The room was a little small and outdated, but it was a decent place to

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelli G, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi Alex I do apologize about trouble you went through for refrigerator. My name is Kelli just recently joined the team and already working on getting new refrigerator as you mentioned your concern we do appreciate your review and our goal is to take care of situation and yes we did replace that. Thanks again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    41
    29
    13
See reviews for
38
34
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint John
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here during a recent trip to Florida. Picked this Super 8 because of positive comments on trip advisor. Our room was a good size and clean. Lady at check in was pleasant and polite. Breakfast was disappointing as there is no breakfast room and no place to sit other than in the lobby. Poured myself some cereal and there was no milk. I was told that no milk had been delivered that morning. How hard would it have been for an employee to go and get some milk for their guests? Try eating dry cereal. Not good and not a good way to start the day. This experience has kind of turned me off with regards to this motel. I don't plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelli G, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I do apologize about breakfast area and milk was out. Secondly since your visit we do now have complete new Breakfast room done recently by management because lack of space in front desk area and breakfast area were close enough. I do recommended you to visit again at our property and will give you a discount since you went through trouble. Also now we do keep more back up product like Milk and breakfast product in stock since your issue has been pointed to management meeting and serious steps are taken. Thank you again for letting us know about front desk was helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. We were touring area vineyards. The room was clean and quiet. It is a convenient location for restaurants and shopping. The day and night staff are wonderful. we would definitelystay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D P, Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for posting your comments! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville VA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you just want a place to sleep with no frills with a good location this S8 isn't bad. Great little Mexican restaurant right across the street with a super happy hour. Waffle house next door, and easy access to I-581. We did detect a bit of a smoky odor on the entire property--there are some smoking rooms and non smoking right next to each other. All on one floor smoking might be a remedy. Nice staff and an adequate little continental breakfast--not much selection but decent coffee, waffles, toast etc. The property is quiet and seems secure. King size bed was more comfortable than many more expensive motels we have been in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelli G, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on your stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you tried the Mexican restaurant across the street. It is one of my favorites. I am also glad to know that you found the bed to be more comfortable then most hotels. Again we thank you and hope that you will stay at our location the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Roanoke

Address: 6616 Thirlane Road, I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Roanoke 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Super Eight Roanoke
Roanoke Super Eight
Roanoke Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.