We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, and affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Roanoke to your Saves list
Super 8 Roanoke
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Roanoke
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6616 Thirlane Road, I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, and affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, and you felt like you got what you paid for. Not a five star hotel, but definitely worth the money. Staff was helpful and breakfast was adequate...continental. Staying again tonight on the way back from our road trip...will review again to update!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, General Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your response on tripadvisor. I am glad that your stay was good and hope to see you on your way back from your next trip. We welcome any response that a guest can give us that will help us run a better business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    37
    27
    12
See reviews for
37
32
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

All I can ask of a motel: clean, comfortable and quiet accommodations at a value price. The desk attendants are very personable. We really liked that the shower head was mounted high on the wall, as both my husband and I are tall. Wifi worked fine. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post the review.We are glad we were able to meet you expectations. Hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Perfect for our stop overnight while driving South with our two Labs. Pet policy of under 35 lbs? not enforced. Check in lady was super nice. Room 108 was selected for us; perfect to get the dogs right out the door to go the bathroom. If any downside the bathtub filled very slow for bathing. Had a king size bed fridge microwave. Old hotel but clean and priced well.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. Glad to here that you and your 2 labs enjoy your stay. Hope to see you and the dogs on ypur next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Va
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed two nights in June. I made my reservation on hotels.com. The hotel is right off exit 2S on I-581. Check in was very easy. Perhaps because I used hotels.com, I did not see a surcharge for the in-room safe. Website photos show a microwave in the room. My room did not have one but the fridge worked fine. They were generous in supplying coffee for the in-room pot. The hallways smelled a little dank but the room was fresh and clean. "Continental breakfast" included in the room fee is very basic: milk, juice, coffee, cereals, maybe pre-packeged pastries. With Waffle House right across the parking lot, who cares? The rooms are on three floors and there is no elevator, so infirm and elderly guests, beware. The King bed was comfortable and the AC worked well. It ran all night, so I was not awakened by it cycling off and on all night. Free wireless internet was appreciated but the connectivity on the third floor prohibited streaming TV games on mlb.com.

Room Tip: Follow signs off Interstate for Hampton Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This Super 8 was at least as good as any other Super 8 we have stayed in. Clean, good-sized room, Our first room had a non-working TV, so we were given another room. This one had no refrigerator or microwave, but we didn't need them. Wi-fi code came with the key. Worked all right.
We found this a good value because of the rate. $57 with AARP. We don't demand a lot beyond basic comfort.
Location was not great. Nothing walkable nearby, except a Mexican restaurant and a Waffle House. Continental breakfast was basic. Bagels and sticky buns, coffee, tea, cold cereal.
We stayed here a second time a few days later on our way back home. Nothing to brag about, but not bad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, General Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for filling out the survey on tripadvisor. Your feed back means a lot to us and will help us to try and make your next stay with us to be pleasant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Room was livable for 1 night passing through. The hallways smelled like smoke. However on checkout the next morning the desk clerk Cornel, refused to refund the fee for the safe even after i informed him that i didn't use the safe. He was very rude and acted like he didn't know how to do the transaction in the point of sales system. Bottom line wouldn't stay there again

Room Tip: Don't pay the safe fee if you didn't use the safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna M, General Manager at Super 8 Roanoke, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. Your comments mean alot to us. Sorry you were unhappy with your stay the last time you were here. Hope to see you again. In the future please let the desk clerk now at check in that you are not going to be using the safe and not to charge you for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

'Virginia' made check-in smooth. My reservatiion wasn't on file, however she had no problem finding a room.

Furishings consisted of of queen beds, comfortable, with two pillows each, table/writing desk with chair and two wall lamps. A two drawer chest, large tv, not flat screen, with over 50 channels. No closet, but a wall rack wuith 6 wooden hangers. Two wall lamps between beds.,Small table between beds, with clock.

I found the room and bathroom clean. Saw no mold ii the bathtub/shower. For the shower, no grab bar available, the tub has a skid free floor. Hair dryer. Sink clean and good size.

Good water pressure, shower was soft to my face.,Water was not hot or cold,,just the right temperature forvan early Msy morning. Towels plenty, but a bit srcatchy.

No mico/fridge.On the lower level is a mico. Nearby are snack, soda and ice machines.

The room has a floor safe. If staying and not using safe, check with front desk to make use yiou won't be charged. Virginia had already removed the charge before I asked about it. A luggage rack sits above the safe.

I stayed in room #109, lower level.

For breakfast, I walked 100 feet to a Waffle House.

I would stay again. This facility is only 6-7 minutes from I81

Jack L., Syracuse, New York.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Roanoke

Address: 6616 Thirlane Road, I-81, I-581 Exit 2S, Roanoke, VA 24019
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Roanoke 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Super Eight Roanoke
Roanoke Super Eight
Roanoke Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.