We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was very underbooked. Asked for a ground floor room...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center to your Saves list
Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   601 Orange Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Suffolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel was very underbooked. Asked for a ground floor room...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel was very underbooked. Asked for a ground floor room or one near the elevator. Instead was put into a room at the far end of the hotel on the 2nd floor. Since I am a senior citizen, it was a real struggle to climb the stairs with my luggage. Then the ice machine in my building was out of order so had to go to another building to get ice. (another trip up and down the stairs). The hotel was old and could use some remodeling.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thanks for reviewing our property. We are sorry to hear that we did not have any ground room floors available for the duration of your stay. We are in the process of remodeling and hope that you will return soon for a more delightful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    55
    72
    109
See reviews for
92
65
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is an older motel, and needs some upgrades, but for one or two nights, it's not a bad place to stay. The beds seemed small - great for one person, but it may be too small for two people. Breakfast was good - waffles, then the usual small breakfast fare. It is conveniently located to the Roanoke Civic Center. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that your stay here with us was decent. We hope you will return again soon for another good stay. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Dirty room, broken furniture, burn holes in blankets, shower is either freezing or scalding, bad service, the list goes on and on. We stopped here because we had been on the road for over 24 hours and needed to rest. We would have been better off to stay on the road a little longer and skip Roanoke entirely.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thanks for reviewing our property. We are sorry to hear that you were not fully accommodated, We are in the process of renovation and update.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The breakfast was slight compared to other continental breakfasts that I have had in other motels. Also the clerk charged me wrong for the room, but when I checked out and questioned the price I had been quoted when I made the reservation, she then changed it. Very aggrevating.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that your rate was changed and were not put in the correct room. We hope you will return for another stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were on the road heading north from North Carolina to New York and did a search for "pet-friendly" hotels to break up the trip. We were traveling with our 14 year old terrier. It was around midnight and we needed a break.
The hotel is a two story disaster from the outside, broken plaster, water staining and mold. Dozens of people were hanging out in the parking lots drinking, partying and smoking, apparently the bar next to the front lobby is a popular local drinking place.

Upon entering the main lobby, we were greeted by a very nice man and given a key to the room. The bed was unmade and blankets, sheets and bed covers were strewn all over the floor. The room stank of pest spray. We immediately headed back to the lobby to notify the front desk that we were leaving and wanted our money back.

He told us that he did not "see the note not to rent that room" since he just arrived at 11:30 pm. For our inconvenience.he offered us the "best room" in the house at a large discount and gave us the key. We went to the walking past all sorts of people hanging over the outside balconies and loudly partying, it was a Saturday night.

We opened the door and turned on the lights to see cock roached scattering all over the floor and window. We went back to the lobby where the nice man refunded our room charge, we got back on the road and headed further north on I-81.

I gave this one star because of the courtesy of the man at the front desk and the fact that he refunded our money.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay. This has been addressed with the executor of housekeeping. We also have a by weekly pest control company that comes out and sprays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center

Address: 601 Orange Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Civic Center / Downtown - Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Days Inn Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.