We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center to your Saves list
Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   601 Orange Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and primarily choose this hotel because of its location to the civic center. It was very close but that is about the only good thing I can say about the hotel. They advertised that it was recently renovated but we must not have gotten one of those rooms because the walls were filthy, the bathroom was moldy and grungy, and the carpet had more holes and stains then the parking lot outside. We had a bottom floor room and heard every single step the person above us took. The room faced the street which is very busy all night long and makes it very hard to sleep. I killed two spiders and two roaches over our three night stay. The shower ran out of hot water after 6 minutes so if you like a longer hot shower or have multiple guests, you will be out of luck. The light in the bathroom made so much noise, we eventually just started using the bathroom in the dark so we would not have to hear it anymore. It did have a refrigerator that worked so that is another positive but it is a struggle to come up with any others. The bed was fairly comfortable but due to the noise from the road, it was just too hard to sleep. I realize the rooms are cheap and I usually do not expect a high quality for the budget rooms, but there still has to be a minimally acceptable standard and this hotel did not meet it. I would not recommend this hotel unless there is no other choice and you just do not feel like sleeping in your car...

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces away from the main road due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Paynesville
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I requested a wake up call for 5am and never received it. The carpet was filthy, and faucet handles were hard to turn and made a loud noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Us Il
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Being close to the Civic Center is the only reason we stayed here. The bathroom was dirty. But the biggest problem was the room smelled like smoke. It was supposed to be a "nonsmoking" room. We couldn't change rooms because they were full. So we were stuck. They did send maintenance up with air freshener and it helped a little.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

No hot water on Sat am! No alarm clock . Blow dryer mounted to high up on wall and so the cord did not reach the plug in., Bathroom fan did not work and bathroom needed a face lift. Furniture worn looking. Only good thing was beds very comfortable.Breakfast OK but I have better continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
#27 of 39 in Roanoke
3.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
7.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Daleville / Salem
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salem Roanoke Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center

Address: 601 Orange Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Civic Center / Downtown - Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Days Inn Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing