We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Option in Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center to your Saves list
Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   601 Orange Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Reasonable Option in Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Location: 5 minutes walk from Roanoke Civic Center and restaurants, 15 minutes Walk from Center in the Sqare .... Room: TV, fridge, free wifi, hair dryer, spacious room... Hotel Condition: Clean and maintained.....Breakfast was good but breakfast area was really small...Price: We paid $ 65 in weekend....Days Inn is reasonable option in downtown Roanoke.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    55
    72
    109
See reviews for
92
65
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

During the recent derecho fiasco, my family and I were forced to find a hotel due to lack of electricity and my elderly parents unable to stay in their home. We found this online and had heard it was "renovated" and due to lack of choices stayed here - BIG MISTAKE!!!!

Initial check-in process was easy enough, we get to our room, it smelled, the AC didn't work and it had bugs, we requested another room (after little help from a female employee who was BEYOND rude), they took us to one already rented to someone else and on the 3rd attempt we got one that at least had AC.

Hallways were full of trash, none of the ice machines worked, the whole place is filthy and so were most of the occupants we encountered while there.............DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

When I, later in the stay, had to call 911 for my mother, the same RUDE female from the front desk called and didn't identify herself and simply said when we answered the phone - is there something wrong? (very scarcastically) - I was NOT amused at this point and said "Yes, my mother needs an ambulance, it none of your business" and hung up on her.

After getting my mother settled in the hospital, I went during the middle of the night, cleaned out both rooms of our personal belongings and never looked back!!!!!!!!!!!

I grew up in Roanoke and there are MANY MANY more places you can stay better than this one and if you can't find one - call me and stay at my house!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

When we got to our assign room we found ice cubes in the bathroom sink, when I when to inquire the response was "the guest that was going to be there complained that the the air conditioner was not working", "she forgot that" so they assign us to a different room, in the interim another guest that have just checked in complained that there was "somebody in the bed". After we got to the room assigned to us the smell was so bad that we looked around and found incredible amount of mold I the air conditioner and around the room, I have some pictures of the Ir conditioner, also the parking lot was full of lint from their "laundry dryer".
We could not wait to leave as early as possible, the attendant at the front desk gave a HUGE discount of $10.00, but no apology.
We will never stay at this,place. (I can't call it hotel nor motel).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Full disclosure: my husband booked this hotel because of its close proximity to the Roanoke Civic Center as well as the unbeatable price. When I decided to tag along, it was too late to make any changes since he booked on expedia.com. This is certainly a motel, not a hotel so manage your expectations!

Pros:
Convenience to Civic Center and Downtown Roanoke
Price
Nice pillows, comfortable bed
Free breakfast (but we didn't stick around for it)
Very hot shower
Two double beds
Fridge, freezer, microwave and coffee maker in the room
TV (didn't test this so not sure about channels)

Cons:
A/C unit was struggling to cool half the room
Gum stuck to the inside of the bedside lamp
Shoe marks on the side of the bathroom wall (???)
Difficult to turn on sink faucet
Got a few bugs bites while sleeping and saw a couple of pecker gnats flying around
Mysterious looking smudges on the desk seat that we opted not to sit on!

If you're standards are simple and you merely want a place to rest your head and take a hot shower, then by all means, save your money and stay here. If you expect any luxury, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

It has spiders and bugs in the room, bedspreads had holes in it, hurt ankle on the missing sidewalk. Had to change my room 3 times, one had spiders and bugs in it, one ac didn't work on one side, and one tv didn't work. The front desk was nasty except for Shelley(best one). It is a hotel to rent by hourly not daily.

Room Tip: Stay in the downtown area, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

While the outside of the motel is not particularly attractive, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and quiet with a comfortable bed, micro-fridge, TV with GREAT channel selection. Close to downtown, restaurants, and shopping. The bathroom could use a little repair as the tub had an old mat in the bottom and shower curtain was sagging and would not stay closed, but that seems to be a universal problem with those new curvy rods. Altogether a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Dirty rooms, rude and igrnorant people work there. Never again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center

Address: 601 Orange Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Civic Center / Downtown - Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Days Inn Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.