We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center to your Saves list
Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   601 Orange Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs improvement.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Stayed here on night 2 of a three day motorcycle trip. We did not check ahead, so we simply stopped at what looked sufficient. From the front / street, the hotel looks pretty good (we stopped after dark fell). Freshly painted, the place looks good. The hotel lobby looked pretty upkept as well. The night manager was helpful about selecting rooms that were around back so we could park and lock our bikes with no fear of theft. The rooms were rough. The room and bathroom show their age. Overall, the room and bathroom are worn. Wallpaper had been applied over less than smooth walls and was curling on its edges. Carpet has stains. Light switches are grimy. Bathroom floor had not been cleaned; there was debris in the corners, behind the door, on the floor. The bathroom tile had been painted over with a heavy coat of paint.....a lot of caulk has been used to make repairs of the bathroom. A bit of mold was on the ceiling in the bathroom. Much of the room had a grimy, rundown feel. Continenttal breakfast was lackluster. However, the room did not smell as some hotels do. The Air / Heat worked very, very well. The TV station selection was the best I've seen in a while; lots of channels. Sheets were clean. Room had a safe. Staff was friendly. Bottom line, we needed a place to sleep and were not in a mood to shop around. This was a guys-only trip, however, if my wife was with me, I would not have stayed here. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    42
    61
    91
See reviews for
77
50
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in double bed room, it was huge room with new carpet and cozy bed and soft pillow. Hotel location is excellent in the dowtown near civic center and plenty of restaurants in surroundings. Breakfast was good and hotel building has fresh yello and green paint with nice couches in lobby. We stayed in a summer weekend so didn't qualified for any deals as hotel occupancy was high. Had really good feeling in staying at such a clean and new days inn. We will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed Oct 14-15 weekend for the Craft show. Location is really convenient to the Civic Center, and downtown, easy on and off I-581 on Rt 340 exit 4E. This hotel used to be run down as I remember from my previous visits, but now has nice room furnishings and we received very good service, the staff was helpful with our questions about places to eat and things to do in the area. Desk manager told us it had undergone renovation under new ownership. We were glad that we stayed. Price was very reasonable we paid about $55 per night on a busy weekend, for nice clean rooms, with refrigerator, microwave and hot breakfast. Mattresses were new. Would recommend to budget conscious personal business travellers like us, good value for the money. Would also suit business travellers who have work reasons to be near downtown. Wi-fi was at very good speed and free.

Weather was perfect and we sat in the gazebo and watched the roanoke star in the evening. Nice view of the mountain.

I am a light sleeper, the heat/ac unit was quiet, and kept us comfortable.

Suggestions: Provide steam iron and ironing table. Breakfast area needs more tables and chairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Fresh paint on the outside did not make up for the indescribable filth on the inside. I am not sure what was on the chairs, bedding, bathtub, and carpet but I am sure disease and shady characters are quiet comfortable there. We did not stay after we saw the room. The manager would not allow us to go to another Days Inn, or get a refund. Another room was an option offered, but the exterior was as bad as the interior. Suspect drug deals and prostitution were going on right under our (trembling) noses.
This place will not stay open long!

Room Tip: Choose one down the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center

Address: 601 Orange Avenue, Roanoke, VA 24016
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Civic Center / Downtown - Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Days Inn Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Roanoke Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.