We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Kindness in Roanoke Rodeway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Civic Center to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   526 Orange Avenue, N.E., Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Clean and Kindness in Roanoke Rodeway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel room was very clean, the staff was very professional and nice. I would stay at this hotel again.

The hotel is near major stores (Walmart, K-Mart, Large Shopping Mall) travel sites, and downtown Roanoke, VA.

Room Tip: Near office downstair
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dangohil, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Dan Gohil
GM
Rodeway Inn Roanoke
540-981-9341
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
8
16
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monein, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

When I checked out (May 23 2014), the lady on reception told me that I should have reported all the problems the night before. She was correct. But it was late, I was tired and couldn't be bothered, and the guy on reception did not seem to be at all interested when I pointed out that the wifi system did not reach room 212. So I went to bed - at least the bed was comfortable and I got a good night's sleep. HOWEVER .... I shall list the "features" of room 212 as I found them.
WIFI does not reach this room.
The security lock on the door had been broken off.
I was unable to make phone calls outside Roanoke from the room.
Maps of the town were not available at reception and the receptionist had no idea where local restaurants could be found.
The TV remote did not work.
The volume control on the ancient (CRT) TV changed channels.
The coffee maker was broken.
Someone seemed to have kicked a hole in the bathroom door.
The room safe was locked and could not be opened.
The sink was blocked.
There were several cracked tiles on the bathroom floor.

Room Tip: AVOID room 212 unless it has been thoroughly renovated!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My daughter and I stayed the night here traveling back to our home in Texas. We had her cat with us so that limited our hotel/motel options. The reviews on a "certain reservation site" did not seem too bad and they accepted pets. I told them when I booked the room we had a cat. When I checked in later and told the representative that there should be a pet friendly room he said he had to change me to the back building. The back building did not look anything like the front building and if it hadn't been so late I would have probably kept driving. The room had carpets that were either wet or were so greasy they felt wet and the comforters had cigarette burns in them. We woke up the next morning with bed bugs crawling all over us and it was then I realized that was why the cat had been running all over us that night - trying to catch the bugs. When I checked out I carried a sandwich bag with several bugs in them down to the front and told the girl at the desk "You have bugs"! Needless to say that will be my last stay at a Rodeway Inn anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Bad customer service: guy kept me on hold for six minutes before I finally hung up and tried to call back- three times. No answer. I needed directions! It was a beautiful day, but the heat was on in our room so it was stifling. Not the worst place I've ever stayed, but I'll probably pay $10 or $20 more to stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I were in town visiting friends, needed a cheap place to stay. This place is nothing fancy, but it was clean, quiet, and the bed was comfy. I went out for breakfast so I didn't see what they offered. We didn't have our dogs on this trip, but it is dog-friendly. Service was friendly and fast.

Only downside was a cleaning product smell when we first arrived, but at least we knew it had been cleaned. Unfortunately all the King bed rooms were booked, so we had to be very snuggly in a double bed. Luckily the mattress was comfy enough we didn't have to sleep in separate beds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is the absolute worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. It was filthy and smelled rancid. The front desk agents were not only disinterested, but actively rude. The room was either frigid or boiling, requiring us to get up every hour to turn the heater on and off. But this review will be short because our main problem is one that should deter any human, or even any animal, from staying here: Our comforter had a giant semen stain on it. DISGUSTING. I have attached a picture for anyone considering staying in this “hotel.” Stay away!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I do not chose where I stay, it's up to my company.

I'll start with saying positive things about this place.
The folks at the front desk are very friendly and courteous.
There is easy access to I581.
There are a few places to eat within walking distance.

Now for the bad....
The faucet on the sink had a bad leak, the sound of leaking water drives me up the wall.
There was human hair (not mine) in and around the tub and shower area.
The box spring was very squeaky and the mattress was very worn out.
The remote control worked like crap.
The breakfast was a HUGE disappointment.

Rodeway hotels are very consistent in one aspect, they all SUCK.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
4.6 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#16 of 38 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
4.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#24 of 38 in Roanoke
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#21 of 38 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Roanoke - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Civic Center

Address: 526 Orange Avenue, N.E., Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rodeway Inn Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Civic Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.