We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bargain Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Civic Center

Rodeway Inn Civic Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Civic Center to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   526 Orange Avenue, N.E., Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Bargain Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I were in town visiting friends, needed a cheap place to stay. This place is nothing fancy, but it was clean, quiet, and the bed was comfy. I went out for breakfast so I didn't see what they offered. We didn't have our dogs on this trip, but it is dog-friendly. Service was friendly and fast.

Only downside was a cleaning product smell when we first arrived, but at least we knew it had been cleaned. Unfortunately all the King bed rooms were booked, so we had to be very snuggly in a double bed. Luckily the mattress was comfy enough we didn't have to sleep in separate beds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    10
    8
    12
See reviews for
5
13
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is the absolute worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. It was filthy and smelled rancid. The front desk agents were not only disinterested, but actively rude. The room was either frigid or boiling, requiring us to get up every hour to turn the heater on and off. But this review will be short because our main problem is one that should deter any human, or even any animal, from staying here: Our comforter had a giant semen stain on it. DISGUSTING. I have attached a picture for anyone considering staying in this “hotel.” Stay away!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I do not chose where I stay, it's up to my company.

I'll start with saying positive things about this place.
The folks at the front desk are very friendly and courteous.
There is easy access to I581.
There are a few places to eat within walking distance.

Now for the bad....
The faucet on the sink had a bad leak, the sound of leaking water drives me up the wall.
There was human hair (not mine) in and around the tub and shower area.
The box spring was very squeaky and the mattress was very worn out.
The remote control worked like crap.
The breakfast was a HUGE disappointment.

Rodeway hotels are very consistent in one aspect, they all SUCK.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here for a week. The room was clean and comfortable, but could use a little refurbishing. The staff was friendly. Breakfast had the added bonus of hard-boiled eggs; which was a good thing, since the cereal was definitely an off brand and I could not eat it. My only complaint was a serious lack of electrical outlets and there were NONE in the vacinity if the desk. To work at my computer, I had to buy a long extention cord or I would nave had to use the luggage rack for a desk placed between the beds!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Tidy with clean sheets & towels, but rather grubby furnishings in the room. Better breakfast than expected.
Suitable for an budget overnight stay, and offers the advantage of being close to the interstate network.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Four of us took two rooms in this Rodeway which is a standard budget place in central Roanoke.
Easily the cheapest hotel on our tour we got exactly what we paid for and not a thing more. Clean and tidy enough but far from spotless as someone has said.
It is right on a busy junction so don,t count on peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I spent one night in this motel with my husband. The room was immaculately clean, all the equipment worked no problem, the price was very budget-friendly and the staff at the front desk were also helpful. Breakfast was OK with unlimited eggs, the first non-carb option we had in days. I can recommend it for a short stopover.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Civic Center

Address: 526 Orange Avenue, N.E., Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Civic Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.