We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and Kick Back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Civic Center to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   526 Orange Avenue, N.E., Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Relax and Kick Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stay here 3 times a week on business. I have a 19 hour layover, which is long compared to other layovers I have experienced. Most guests in Motels dont spend that long in their rooms. Part of my job is to sleep and, I "have to" be comfortable to be able to sleep. Here I dont have to worry about that. It's very quiet and the beds are relaxing. I think most of the rooms have a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a safe.The building itself is old, but the owner is constently updated and remodeling the rooms. Probably the only complaint I have is the knats and moths that fly in the room at night when you open the door.. (The security light for each room is just right outside the door and attracks the bugs at night) I had a couple of complaints to the staff, but they have always corrected my issues with professionlism and promptness. I would recommend this "Motel" to anyone. It should be called a "Hotel" cause I feel like I am "Home"

Room Tip: Room 216 is my favorite, so dont stay there. (LOL) Stay on top floor to reduce the noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    9
    7
    9
See reviews for
3
13
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Clean spacious rooms. All the amenities one could expect from a Rodeway. Good value. The only problem we experienced during our stay was that the guest laundry was out of order the entire three days.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Stayed one night - it's not in the nicest area of town (beside an autobody shop and by a major roadway).

The facility was very good and was less than $60/night with tax. No amenities but none expected. It was well lit at night. Rooms were clean but a bit small. Breakfast was included and was good value as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Sadly did not check the room before paying over $80:00 for a dump.Then when we got home to the U.K. they had taken a second nights charge when we could prove we were not in the country. Finally got a refund months later. How many people does the manager charge and get away with?.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodeway_11, Owner at Rodeway Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. As you have stated, you paid a rate of $80.00 for your stay. We have never offered a rate of the amount at this Property. Please check the address of the property in Roanoke, Virginia. That you stayed at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

loved the hotel. service was nice and when we first got at the hotel my kids loved the flatscreen tv in the lobby. the room was nice and pretty clean exept the bugs in the bathroom but were used to that in our house. the location is kinda incovenant cause all its near is the civic center and a bad part of town and a bunch of car dealar ships. i do recomend it to anyone who is on a bujet when they travel to ronoke.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed here with a buddy over the Martinsville race weekend. A bit dated decor-wise, but VERY clean and VERY convenient to downtown, I-581 and Williamson Road. Free HBO, ESPN, ESPN2 and Speed, plus easy access to high speed wireless. Overall, quite the bargain for approximately $50.00 a night. In the words of California's governor, "I'll be back."

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Good-sized cockroach greeted me when I entered. I either saw him three times or he got around the room. Room a little weathered. Breakfast bare minimum. Won't come back here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Civic Center

Address: 526 Orange Avenue, N.E., Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Civic Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Civic Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.