We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a 'Good +' Rating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Ramsey, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Overall a 'Good +' Rating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Roanoke was a stopping point for a night on a drive to South Carolina. As my other reviews show, we are fans of the Hampton Inn and were happy to reach the hotel at a late hour.
Pros: Hotel is conveniently located off of I-81, the hotel staff was very pleasant, bedding is comfortable, and the breakfast area was a good size and well stocked.
Cons: Maybe just me, but these seemed to be the smallest queen beds I have ever experienced in a Hampton. Carpeting in our room had a dirty look and would not think as another review said that it is a new hotel. Room noise was a bit louder than we like but may be attributed to being a completely sold out hotel. First floor walls were a bit banged up as well - likely from people hitting the luggage carts into them. Would also say the VERY hard working breakfast person could use a little help especially when the hotel is sold-out-she did a great job however.
We did not take advantage of the indoor pool or business center.
Would say the hotel falls between the Average and Very Good choices TripAdvisor offers and it was certainly adequate for a night to break up a long drive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    78
    52
    33
    11
See reviews for
92
74
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were on a road trip and it was a quick overnight at this property before resuming the next morning. It was conveniently off a major highway and the staff was very efficient.

Pros:
- free cookies at lobby
- great breakfast spread
- trailer friendly parking lot
- good ventilation system from air conditioning unit
- adjacent Mexican restaurant is actually good

Cons:
- empty cookie trays at the lobby
- zoo-like atmosphere at breakfast time
- full size beds were advertised as queen size beds
- cookie cutter room furnishings

Room Tip: Get one on ground floor, especially if you have lots of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaefferstown
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed one night while traveling from PA to Georgia. The hotel was clean and our room quite comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only glitch was the TV--for some reason there is no volume for PBS in the hotel. Would have been a problem if we were staying several days, but for one night I could do without. Did not use the pool, but it looked very nice. Breakfast was good--better than some Hamptons we stayed at. Would stay here again. We appreciated that there was a list of area restaurants ready for guests to pick up at the front desk--a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

As a family traveling together, we find Hampton Inns very comfortable and accommodating. The rooms and beds are a little larger, and the optional pull out sofa is an added bonus for a family of 5. All the amenities that are important to us are covered and we find ourselves preferring Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stay at a lot of Hamton Inn locations, and are familiar with thier standards. This hotel and the common areas was clean ... but air conditioning unit was load and not very effective. Mattress was not consistent with the high standards of Hampton Inn. Net net ... we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

hampton inn has been my favorite hotel for the value and the large array of hot breakfast items it has. it is truly family friendly and a great start of a day when you hit the large theme parks that charge an arm and a leg for food.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrisman, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Nice hotel, above average, nice breakfast included, nice pool, close to shopping food and entertainment. Clean room, easy check-in / check-out. pleanty of parking. Good value, would recamend to our friends. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Address: 7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.