We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Keller, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The staff was busy, but helpful. I requested a rollaway bed for our son and they forgot, but when I called to remind them, they were very apologetic and came with the bed about 3 minutes later. As my review title indicates, it was a good stay, but I wouldn't say it was great because while everything went well, the place was pretty busy and starting to show some wear and tear. Our AC did not work that well. It seemed humid in our room. The breakfast bar was kept well stocked and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    89
    59
    36
    14
See reviews for
104
86
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Another great stay at a Hampton Inn. Consistently a great hotel that have a very friendly staff, clean rooms and a delicious breakfast. You never have to worry when you book a room in a Hampton Inn; your stay will always be a pleasant one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Not up to the Hilton standards. This property appears to have been converted from a Super 8 or some other lower tier hotel. The staff was not friendly or available. There is a Fairfield Inn up the road. I am going to try that property next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Maybe because we were a late arrival , but it seemed we were bothering the staff! There were tow people at the desk, one waiting on another customer. When done with the other, mumbled something like come here. Seemed confused when I gave another form of payment other than when I booked and had to be helped by the other. The second did not say anything to us, did not even make eye contact.
I have stayed at 7 Hampton Inns in the past 2 weeks and this one was the pits. They told us nothing about breakfast in the AM or the internet, or really anything.
At least our room key was waiting for us and the desk clerk had to figure that out.
Hotel dated and poor smell compared to the others; warm breakfast disgusting.
Only perk is right off the highway, easy to find, but there are several others on the same street.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

There is a need for better bathroom floor cleaning, the first room was tacky, changed to another same problem not as bad. Other then that the room was doable. We are Hampton people and have always had a great room. I think they don't have enough help. The rooms were 'sprayed'

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My daughter lost her necklace during the stay, the cleaning service find it in the sink drainage, retrieve it and send it back to us. This is service beyond the call of duty. The rooms are clean, and they provide complimentary internet service, for a traveller returning from New York city, this is heaven on earth.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were really tired and were driving when we made the reservation online, using a smartphone. Property close to the highway: check. Able to use HHonors points: check, although somewhat high at 30,000. Near an interesting city (Roanoke): check. Somehow though, we ended up with a reservation for a room having just two twin/full beds. Asked the desk clerk for a room with at least a queen bed - this was a couples trip after all and I am accustomed to good service as a Gold level HHonors member - and she quickly but somewhat grumpily complied with what she said (I think) was the only open room with a queen bed. Walked down a faded hallway on the first floor with bleach(?) stains here or there on the carpet (my stated profile preference is for a high floor, but we did want that queen bed) and found a somewhat cramped room with two queen beds. Fridge sort-of cooling, but not really well, so we had to end up eating our leftovers. By the time we crashed after grabbing a quick dinner out, we discovered the a/c unit worked very loudly, such that it was difficult to think. Realized the modern thermostat on the wall did nothing and any operating controls were on the unit under the window. Even when turned down to low speed, the unit would go on with a roar, work for a minute or two and then go off. Breakfast was essentially fine, although I am always disappointed when a hotel in what is essentially unspoiled rural America takes no steps to recycle paper or plastics. We ended up "packing" out recyclables out with us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Address: 7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.