We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel Terrible Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel Terrible Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I think the title says it all. Have stayed in this hotel before and had a great experience. This time, not so much. As for the hotel, it is fantastic. Great rooms, beds, breakfast, etc... The staff really leaves something to be desired though. Cant be bothered with ANYTHING that is going to require even a minimal amount of work, thinking, or common sense.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    61
    47
    28
    10
See reviews for
76
67
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a typical Hampton Inn with a little wear on the furnishings. The staff is competent and the rooms are typical Hampton, with a great bed and fresh linens and a fairly nice bathroom with amenities. Internet was free, although a little slow. We were happy with the room for the price, but were disappointed with the breakfast, which had no protein offerings and was kind of cheap-I think Hampton is generally letting their breakfasts deteriorate as this is the third in a row that had a mediocre breakfast. i would prefer to pay a little more for a better offering. If you are travelling I-81, this is an OK choice, but we will continue to look for a better alternative.

Room Tip: highway. Although the highway is not directly next to the hotel, you can hear the Jake brakes of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, NY
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you like and are comfortable with Hampton Inns, this one will satisfy. Our room was clean and tidy, sleeping was relaxing and quiet, the breakfast area was well-stocked and we finally got the sausage gravy we were hoping for in our trip to the South. If we were in the area again, we would stop at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice property outside of Roanoke,conveienent of I-81. Located near two other hotel properties.Clean,nice rooms,breakfast is good,staff was very courteous.Adequate parking. Would stay again. I like going to Hilton properties.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here one night after a long drive traveling cross country..Hilton Gold Member...2 Adults and 2 Kids..Was given room 102..A large 2 queen room...The room was great and much larger than I expected..Shower was clean and water pressure was great..Pool area looked nice although we didn't use it..The breakfast was just okay..This is nothing against this particular hotel but mostly all Hampton Inns could learn to serve better quality breakfast..Overall if I was driving this route again I'd stay here again no question..

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hamptons are our 'go to' hotels while traveling. We have learnt that they are not all the same and there are differences. At this particular hotel, the facility is fine, but the beds we had on two different occasions, in two different rooms, were uncomfortable and squeaky. Every time my husband rolled over, the springs would squeak and bong...it did not make for a peaceful night, on either night!! Perhaps if more folks let them know, they would change to new beds and/or mattresses. Does anyone else out there dislike those lumpy comforters used in Hamptons??

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very nice hotel and by far some of the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. We were there for a weekend volleyball tournament and the staff were extremely patient with our many many girls. They kept the juice machines up and running 24/7, left fruit out in the breakfast area all day and night, and they always had fresh coffee and cookies. The king room was huge and the bedding was extremely comfortable. The rooms were the freshest smelling rooms! Very clean!!!! 10 minutes top to the mall, shopping and every eatery under the sun!!! I would definately recommend! 2 blocks off the interstate!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Address: 7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.