We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Tate, Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hilton is my preferred hotel brand. This particular hotel let me down in a few areas. The gentleman that checked us in that night did not make any pleasant conversation, did not address me by name or acknowledge my Hilton status as is common practice at a Hilton property. In fact, he didn't say anything to me. Very weird experience.

The bed was comfy and the shower was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    43
    27
    10
See reviews for
71
65
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
mattpoisett
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived late due to winter storm. Check inn was about 2 minutes time . A great item was as I was going to ask about a place to eat, I noticed a typed hand out of staff's best and favorite place to eat. USing the list we went to a great place to eat. There were even driving directions included. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The fitness center is a good place to work out. The breakfast is perfect for us. The inn is off the highway and easy access. A great deal and place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maiden, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The place does have the typical Hampton rooms - Bed, Chair, Office Desk and Flat Screen TV.

There is an Indoor pool so available all year round, fitness center and an actual Business center instead of a typical cubby in the corner with a computer.

The one big complaint I had with the hotel was the mattress on the bed was hard a rock, not the slightest bit comfortable yet they boost on their sign feel the difference of a Cloud 9.

The majority of Hampton's (companies preferred hotel) I stay at beds range from soft to pillow soft but this was far from it.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a hard bed this place is very conveniently located to the highway if this is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip to Blacksburg, VA. Because of a Thursday night football game at VATECH, the nightly rate was astronomical - which did not leave a good a very taste in my mouth. I know this is standard practice but in reality the rate did not match the accommodations. Hotel was clean, service as expected. No news is good news for these types of hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Could not find any place to stay for college visit to Va Tech until we found this hotel? Was a little worried because read a review about hard beds and not nice linens, but rest assured that is no longer true. Recently renovated, with new beds and wonderful duvet comforter and fluffy pillows the room was wonderful. The breakfast was nice and a great day to start a day of exploring Va Tech.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite with 2 queen beds and pull out coach. Very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

An excellent Hampton Inn. Clean, reasonable price and with a helpful staff. The written restaurant recommendations were very helpful, with Hollywood's Restaurant and Bakery, which is on the list, an excellent choice for dinner. Breakfast was ample and the attendant kept it refreshed. The motel is convenient to the Interstate, but far enough away that noise is not an issue. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This Hampton offers easy access to Route 81 and was clean and up to regular Hampton Inn standards. However, I was not greeted at check-in and felt such little warmth and caring from the hotel staff. For a quick stop-off, this is fine, but if I were staying more than an overnight, I'd find a place with a little more charm and a LOT more personality.

I also feel like Hampton Inns in general have very hard beds. Their linens are decent, but aging -- those down comforters have gotten really lumpy and just don't look that great. But I do appreciate the fresh linens -- this is a much better option than a "bedspread" that has been used over and over again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Address: 7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.