We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hampton, but where was customer service?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Decent Hampton, but where was customer service?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This Hampton offers easy access to Route 81 and was clean and up to regular Hampton Inn standards. However, I was not greeted at check-in and felt such little warmth and caring from the hotel staff. For a quick stop-off, this is fine, but if I were staying more than an overnight, I'd find a place with a little more charm and a LOT more personality.

I also feel like Hampton Inns in general have very hard beds. Their linens are decent, but aging -- those down comforters have gotten really lumpy and just don't look that great. But I do appreciate the fresh linens -- this is a much better option than a "bedspread" that has been used over and over again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    65
    48
    28
    11
See reviews for
80
68
15
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had a queen suite. Room was clean, shower was clean, beds were clean and room was very functional and great.

I would say a good hotel for the price. Better then the airport property with outside rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio,tx
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife & I where on vacation and unfortunately had made reservations for 3 nights at this Hampton Inn.Was not up to the usual Hampton Standards.Carpet was very dirty and used a top sheet instead of fitted sheet on mattress,housekeeping was very poor,the Inn was just dirty,needs to be upgraded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Simsbury, CT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I needed to stop on my way to High Point NC. It was late so I did a GPS search. Right off the highway easy access. Very clean and nice staff. I was disappointed that they didn't have a snack to go when I left before the breakfast time? Room was as expected comfortable and fresh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury,New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is extremely easy to get to off I-81. The check-in process was smooth and quick. Rooms were very nice, and the price was reasonable. We had a room with two queen size beds, which were clean and extremely comfortable. I appreciated the amenities they provided in the bathroom, which were more plentiful than most hotels. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet the next morning was also satisfying, with a nice selection of foods.
The very next night we stayed in another Hampton Inn in another state, and the room and beds were much smaller, it had fewer amenities, and overall was not nearly as nice as this one and it was more expensive! So I would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly return here next time we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hampton inn is a bit outdated compared to most current Hampton Inns. However, as one of the other reviews mentions, this is NOT a "doors on the outside" type of motor inn. That hampton inn is a little closer to downtown roanoke and looks a lot worse.

The staff here was also not particularly welcoming. So, ok for a night, but not the best hampton inn I've stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Chose this place because it is near I-81 and we were on a cross-country trip. We would not stay here again. Maintenance issues cry out for attention ... hole in wallboard next to electrical outlet ... cracks in shower area ... generally felt like it was old and tired. Got in very late so cannot comment on availability of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Address: 7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.