We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Oswego, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here on our return trip north. While we had an excellent experience w/ Hampton Inns in Brunswick Ga., this Hampton did not meet our expectations. The carpet looked dated, there was an odor in the halls, the water tasted "funky", the cranberry juice in the a.m. tasted like it had been in the system for a while-yuck! It seemed the room coffee maker was tucked awayh on a shelf behind the bathroom door. Front desk was very nice, as was the lady in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    78
    52
    33
    11
See reviews for
92
74
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

Very pleased with room, clean and extremely nice staff. Free breakfast was wonderful with many choices available. Overall, quite pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here one night while on our way to the Gulf Coast. Arrived past the 6PM cancelation deadline or I would have moved. This hotel needs an update. Don't expect the typical Hampton experience. There are better choices in the area.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here on 11/11 after visiting Virginia Tech. It was excellent. The service was polite but not overly friendly. We had two queen beds that were perfectly adequate. I like the large bathrooms and granite counters on the newer Hampton Inns and this one must have been newer. The place was spotless. The breakfast was excellent- omelets, Canadian bacon, waffles, muffins and bread, cereal, etc. We swam in the pool and worked out with free weights and good treadmills. Use goggles in the warm pool, my son had a terrible reaction to the chlorine. If you are visiting colleges, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The rooms are amazing! breakfast in the morning was awesome! and customer service was great! front desk assistants were very friendly and gladly answered any questions that i needed. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

after reading reviews, was hesitant to book. but when it's vtech football season, hotels are sold out in this area - even 26 miles away. it was a surprise how friendly front desk was. extremely helpful woman who was busily initializing room keycards for full house that night. we arrived around 2pm and asked if we could check-in early. room wasn't ready yet, but she gave us our room keycards and offered to drop-off any luggage if needed. given how early people start trying to check-in on football weekend - 7:30am. we're talking devotion. came back very late after bumper to bumper drive. room was welcome sight after night of rain. large, clean with all appointments as expected from Hampton Inn and more. Free breakfast was prepared nicely and diligently refreshed with fresh food. breakfast room was filled with travelers from all sides of the gridiron. morning discussions were reserved to family reunions and travel stories (thank goodness). Being right off of I-81, there are many choices for hotels at this exit. But found this Hampton Inn up to par and then some. was pleasantly surprised given some reviews. but as another reviewer said, right place when needed. friendly front desk and staff. no mean man here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stopped in Lexington Va hoping for a place to stay on a recent trip south. They were full but made a call further south to Hollins Hampton Inn which could accommodate us - even there was a Virginia Tech football game the next day. Check in was smooth and pleasant. When we asked about a place to dine they directed us to a very nice Mexican restaurant that we could walk to and we had an enjoyable dinner. Breakfast was very good - waffles like I like them and coffee was good. Cheese omelet was the usual. Location is convenient and rooms were fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81

Address: 7922 Plantation Rd., Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / i-81 Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Roanoke / Hollins / I-81, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.