We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no quality at this Quality INN” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Tanglewood to your Saves list
Quality Inn Tanglewood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“no quality at this Quality INN”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

the bathroom was dirty...cigarette burns all over the tub...ceiling was stained..floor was dirty...I did not expect a Quality Inn to be so bad...also..man at front desk had a attitude. Will never stay there again.



  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    11
    18
    22
See reviews for
13
26
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
patrick springs,va.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

No other cars in parking lot., felt unsafe, no lighting outside. Travel a lot, and this one of the worst motels. No light entrance to room, several bad stains on carpet and chairs, curtains hanging off rods, molding on bath ceiling and over bed, heavy dust on lamps and furniture, sheets not fit bed, wallpaper peeling, mirror dirty, cracks in walls, refrigerator had a dent. Told clerk, he said there are other motels in the area, Holiday Inn down the road. Called Manager Justin, he would not compensate, or refund money. We asked for upper level, he said construction there, and he said I did not want to go in the rear. Which indicated crime area. Find another motel to stay in. All their motels have problems with maintenance.

Room Tip: Find another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I usually don't write unless I have positive things to report. Though while the desk clerk was very nice and location convenient, this place was the worst motel we've experienced in 25 years of travel.

Ratty, stained carpets, holes in the walls, moldy ceiling, ripped bedding, filthy towels, dents in the door, broken climate controls etc. Its the type of easy-in, easy-out meth lab joint and I'm almost positive "cooking" of sorts took place here at one point or another. We're resilient but felt quiet unsafe here.

The non-smoking room (112) stank of a combination between stale cigarette smoke and urinal cakes (think dive-bar bathroom-floor odor.)

The last straw was the large bug exploring the top of the sickening bedside table (see photo.)

We didn't even stay our first night opting to go down the road to the Holiday Inn and had a great stay for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were sent to a third room. The first one needed maid service with the bed stripped and the dirty linen still in the room. The second room had the broken bed standing upright on its side against the wall.

We thought the attendant was nice, but he didn't know the room conditions he sent us to.

I believe they have since offered us a free night, but we have no plans to go back there.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

When I first drove up to the hotel, I was a bit concerned because there were no cars in the parking lot and it was already 3 pm. Checked in at the office, went to grab some dinner from a local grocery then came back to go into the room. Door to the room stained liked someone had splashed liquid on it, room smelled, dust on top of microwave, fridge stained, dented,bathroom questionable,one bath towel, one small towel. Checked bed, sheet and thin bedcover--no blanket. Checked sheets--some questionable items maybe bug carcasses, stains on sheets, sheets did not look freshly laundered. Checked under the pillows, there was a long black hair. Needless to say, I returned to the office and asked for a refund and checked out immediately.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The price was right, person at desk was nice, and the location worked well for my purposes; however, the room was a big disappointment. Fortunately, I was not spending a lot of time in the room, but did expect cleanliness and comfort...received neither. A dirty washcloth was left lying on the back of the commode; supplies had not been replenished (such as paper cups...there was one!); floor was not clean, especially bathroom floor. Actually, the bathroom was so tiny that there wasn't much of a floor at all, so certainly it would not have taken more than a minute to clean it! I wonder if the room had really been cleaned at all. I did sleep, but woke up with a back ache. It's not likely that I will give this motel a second try, which is a shame because I often travel to the area and like this location.

Room Tip: You might want to ask to see the room before actually taking in your luggage. If there are issues, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a little old but once you got inside to check in and to your room you can tell that this hotel needs a lot of TLC. Front desk was excellent Brian and Roy were very helpful. Will come back in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Tanglewood

Address: 3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Quality Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.