We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Tanglewood

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Tanglewood to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Tanglewood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Highland, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Low quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were sent to a third room. The first one needed maid service with the bed stripped and the dirty linen still in the room. The second room had the broken bed standing upright on its side against the wall.

We thought the attendant was nice, but he didn't know the room conditions he sent us to.

I believe they have since offered us a free night, but we have no plans to go back there.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    9
    16
    21
See reviews for
13
23
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

When I first drove up to the hotel, I was a bit concerned because there were no cars in the parking lot and it was already 3 pm. Checked in at the office, went to grab some dinner from a local grocery then came back to go into the room. Door to the room stained liked someone had splashed liquid on it, room smelled, dust on top of microwave, fridge stained, dented,bathroom questionable,one bath towel, one small towel. Checked bed, sheet and thin bedcover--no blanket. Checked sheets--some questionable items maybe bug carcasses, stains on sheets, sheets did not look freshly laundered. Checked under the pillows, there was a long black hair. Needless to say, I returned to the office and asked for a refund and checked out immediately.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The price was right, person at desk was nice, and the location worked well for my purposes; however, the room was a big disappointment. Fortunately, I was not spending a lot of time in the room, but did expect cleanliness and comfort...received neither. A dirty washcloth was left lying on the back of the commode; supplies had not been replenished (such as paper cups...there was one!); floor was not clean, especially bathroom floor. Actually, the bathroom was so tiny that there wasn't much of a floor at all, so certainly it would not have taken more than a minute to clean it! I wonder if the room had really been cleaned at all. I did sleep, but woke up with a back ache. It's not likely that I will give this motel a second try, which is a shame because I often travel to the area and like this location.

Room Tip: You might want to ask to see the room before actually taking in your luggage. If there are issues, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a little old but once you got inside to check in and to your room you can tell that this hotel needs a lot of TLC. Front desk was excellent Brian and Roy were very helpful. Will come back in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown Pa.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here one night and are glad we didn't have to stay longer!!! The staff at the front desk was very friendly and gave us the room we asked for at what we thought was an ok price using a coupon from a travel book. We were wrong!!! The room itself had been cleaned but not very well, it was very dingy and worn out with molding missing from different places, the mini fridge and the A/C unit rattled like a couple of freight trains, the toilet wouldn't flush every time and the door wouldn't shut proper even though it was locked. Forget about a quiet nights sleep, even if it wasn't for all the noise in the room, this hotel is just too close to a busy road. We will pass on this place next time!!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere that's not along this busy highway and noisy side road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibbutz Naan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room was very comfortable and clean and the prices are always good but was so outstanding was the service of the hotel receptionist. He was so friendly and gave us some fantastic tips on how and where to continue our trip. Highly recommend this site..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

No Quality at Tanglewood…..Just a Tangled Dirty MESS!

Arrived late Friday night 8/2/13 on business with early start necessary for the next day and given room 102. It was old and dated, and worse yet dirty. Should have trusted my instincts and checked out and gone to ANY other hotel. Markings on AC were worn off and unreadable….impossible to set to comfortable temperature.

Went to secure the door, dead bolt was loose and security latch hanging by one screw (damaged during a break in the previous night?). Sink did not have stopper (just a dirty drain), tub and shower were also dirty. Outlets were missing covers with hazard of shock. Electrical metal raceway below headboard was loose, rusted and dirty.

Carpet worn and dirty especially around baseboard. Worst of all…. air conditioning unit produced a loud ‘clunk’ every time the thermostat cycle and called for cooling. Continued AC cycling thunking made sleep impossible.

Quality Inn Tanglewood offered a $21.53 refund. Unacceptable. Contacted Choice directly via their Customer Service phone number, and supervisor John politely acknowledged my concerns, and offered additional support. Very satisfactory.

I will NEVER stay at the Quality Inn Tanglewood in Roanoke VA again…..and although Choice to its credit was courteous and supportive, I would suggest that they distance themselves from the Quality Inn in Tanglewood as it definitely does not meet the high standards of their other hotels at which I have stayed in the past.

If you have a choice, and want Quality Do NOT stay at the UN-Quality Inn Tanglewood 3816 Franklin Rd Roanoke VA…..avoid it…

you would be better off sleeping in your vehicle, at least your vehicle doors lock!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Tanglewood

Address: 3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Tanglewood 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Quality Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;