We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good property for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Tanglewood

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Tanglewood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Tanglewood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good property for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our room was large with a fridge, microwave, 2 sinks, a walk in shower, and a separate tub and shower. We stayed two nights and had no problems. It was clean, great location too. We're from the area and were back in town on a visit. We would definitely choose this property again.

Room Tip: Room 113 on the end. Quiet with 2 showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    7
    15
    21
See reviews for
13
21
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Syracuse, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the first review that I have ever written,this was the most disgusting room that my family ever stayed in.The room smelled terrible,the molding on the floor was not connected to the floor,the bathroom floor was filthy,the telephone was disqusting.The televison worked on some channels but there was no sound on some channels.We wore flip flops because the carpet was so dirty.My sister stayed next store to our room,her phone did not work.Her room was as bad as ours.I told the person as we checked out,he hung is head.l

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I rarely leave reviews but didn't want anyone to run into what we did. When you walk in the room it smelled musty. I am adding a picture below. The bathroom floors were so filthy. The grout was literally black and the tile which was textured had black dirt caked up in all the crevices. It was nasty. We went to breakfast at 8:30 thinking to take it easy before we left. Breakfast goes til 10...so they say. But not if you want to eat! They were out of ALL hot food, fruit cups, yogurt, milk was out, butter, and peanut butter. And 4 more people came in to eat as we were leaving! They don't come in and monitor anything. One woman went and asked for some milk which they did fill. We stayed at a comfort Inn the night before and it wasn't much better. BEWARE! I would not recommend this Quality Inn in Tanglewood. We have always used Clarion hotels but after this trip we will be avoiding them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The reason we stayed here is because they allow pets. The room smelled like dirty dog really bad, which especially sucked since we just got ours groomed yesterday. The carpet was nasty as if it had never been vacuumed, we never took our shoes off for fear of getting foot fungus. There were pubic hairs all over the sink and the bathtub was dingy looking. My husband awoke feeling poorly like his lungs were on fire (he's a non smoker too) and has felt sickly the rest of today, pretty sure it had something to do with the air quality. Would have asked to change rooms but were too tired to deal with that after driving all day. The room had no smoke detector or fire suppression system, which I believe is an OSHA law and the fire Marshall should inspect them for violations. Never staying anywhere again without consulting tripadvisor! The staff was nice but that's about it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was booked for a wedding party, a 3-night stay. A college football game had other motels booked solid, but we would have moved if we could have.

This was an older building, with all the earmarks of attempted do-it-yourself rennovations, messy caulking, peeling vinyl wallpaper, poorly fitting vanity tops, etc, but the unforgivable offense was the NASTINESS. It was just plain dirty. Rug was stinky and stained, tub was grimy, hairs in the lavatory.

Room felt "damp" in its overall atmosphere. An electric outlet had been installed (DIY job), and was quite loose, so when you plugged something in, or unplugged it, the outlet pulled out of the wall about an inch -- quite unsafe. The metal wire molding running along the wall was actually rusted all along, which indicates that some water had been leaking into the wiring (never a good thing!). Bathroom door and hinges were rusty, too.

The bathroom had BLACK MOLD (see attached photo). I realize it's a humid place, and being wedged up against a mountain, this location is doubly damp, but a little bleach and a sponge would take care of that! It simply had not been cleaned.

Bed was okay, sheets seemed clean, pillows were numerous but lumpy. Lighting very poor. Not enough electrical outlets. But these are all pretty typical econo-motel features, I suppose.

Housekeeping did not come to make up our rooms until 5 o'clock in the afternoon, at which time we were all busily dressing for the wedding we had come to attend. We told her we needed 30 minutes, please, but she never did come back. So that night we slept in unmade beds, had to go to the office for towels, etc.

Because a block of rooms had been blocked for visiting wedding guests, we received a discounted rate of $70-odd dollars per room, but it was definitely not worth that amount!

Overall, it was a bad experience, and we would certainly never stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our team tends to stay at higher end hotels but we were very happy with James and his team as they did their very best to accomodate us. We booked 28 rooms and had no issues. The price was good, our families that wanted to were able to bring their pets and James even had them start breakfast 30 minutes early so that we could make our game time.

The restaurant next door had great prices and great food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our first Quality Inn, I think, not a usual stopping place for us, and it will be the last, based on this property. Not remembering many specifics, as I didn't make notes along our trip, my bad, all we can both say is it was a dump. It looked & felt dirty from the outside and inside as well, the carpet was torn up in one corner, the $84/night rate was outrageous for this place, the staff incoming & outgoing were cold & indifferent. Never again. We probably chose it because other area motels were even more pricey but we know better and will spring for an extra $20 somewhere else in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Tanglewood

Address: 3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Tanglewood 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Quality Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.