We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black mold, definite dump!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Tanglewood to your Saves list
Quality Inn Tanglewood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Black mold, definite dump!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was booked for a wedding party, a 3-night stay. A college football game had other motels booked solid, but we would have moved if we could have.

This was an older building, with all the earmarks of attempted do-it-yourself rennovations, messy caulking, peeling vinyl wallpaper, poorly fitting vanity tops, etc, but the unforgivable offense was the NASTINESS. It was just plain dirty. Rug was stinky and stained, tub was grimy, hairs in the lavatory.

Room felt "damp" in its overall atmosphere. An electric outlet had been installed (DIY job), and was quite loose, so when you plugged something in, or unplugged it, the outlet pulled out of the wall about an inch -- quite unsafe. The metal wire molding running along the wall was actually rusted all along, which indicates that some water had been leaking into the wiring (never a good thing!). Bathroom door and hinges were rusty, too.

The bathroom had BLACK MOLD (see attached photo). I realize it's a humid place, and being wedged up against a mountain, this location is doubly damp, but a little bleach and a sponge would take care of that! It simply had not been cleaned.

Bed was okay, sheets seemed clean, pillows were numerous but lumpy. Lighting very poor. Not enough electrical outlets. But these are all pretty typical econo-motel features, I suppose.

Housekeeping did not come to make up our rooms until 5 o'clock in the afternoon, at which time we were all busily dressing for the wedding we had come to attend. We told her we needed 30 minutes, please, but she never did come back. So that night we slept in unmade beds, had to go to the office for towels, etc.

Because a block of rooms had been blocked for visiting wedding guests, we received a discounted rate of $70-odd dollars per room, but it was definitely not worth that amount!

Overall, it was a bad experience, and we would certainly never stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    11
    18
    22
See reviews for
13
26
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our team tends to stay at higher end hotels but we were very happy with James and his team as they did their very best to accomodate us. We booked 28 rooms and had no issues. The price was good, our families that wanted to were able to bring their pets and James even had them start breakfast 30 minutes early so that we could make our game time.

The restaurant next door had great prices and great food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our first Quality Inn, I think, not a usual stopping place for us, and it will be the last, based on this property. Not remembering many specifics, as I didn't make notes along our trip, my bad, all we can both say is it was a dump. It looked & felt dirty from the outside and inside as well, the carpet was torn up in one corner, the $84/night rate was outrageous for this place, the staff incoming & outgoing were cold & indifferent. Never again. We probably chose it because other area motels were even more pricey but we know better and will spring for an extra $20 somewhere else in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I am one of those reviewers who hesitate to give negative ratings to hotels. I am aware of the fact that some people are too demanding. When you book a hotel room, you generally know what to expect, because you have read the ratings and you know the hotel category. In this case we were disappointed. We expected a clean, comfortable room and got a dusty, smelly, partially dirty room. The sheets were clean, so that was a plus, but the carpet and the bathroom were dirty. They offer nice continental breakfast, but the breakfast table was so sticky we had to clean it first, there was food on the floor and juice dripping from the machine. Granted, that was the work of irresponsible hotel guests, but no one came to clean up the mess. All in all I cannot recommend this particular Quality Inn. If you can, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

There was mold in the shower, the the tile floors where dirty cause after the floor towel git wet from my shower all the scunge git wiped up, floor spill stains on tile by coffee pot so it had not been moped for awhile, splatter stains on tile wall, bed hard and uncomfortable, 3 small pillows on a king bed, 2 bath towels, one hand towel (that I used to step on after shower) and only one wash cloth. Tea water was not hot and i along with other guests had to keep asking fir breakfast stuff. It was 8:15 and they ran out if stuff. Thought it was a quick place to stay but I should have read the reviews first. Never again - thus is by far nowhere near Choice Hotel Standards!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a nice place to stay. It has everything going for it. The room was very clean and looked like it had been recently redone. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was nice and inviting, and everything was well stocked. They had French toast, bagels, donuts, fresh fruit, sausage, juices, and assorted cereal.
Please note, this is a two story property with no elevator. Be sure to ask for a first floor location if the stairs will be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear as some face the front and roadway. We were in the back and it was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Have stayed at this place on business several times, each time swearing I would find another place in Roanoke. But the $59 AARP rate kept me returning. The place has continued to deteriorate, unfortuately, over the past 2-3 years.

This is an old converted Holiday Inn, with the aluminum window frames and outside doors. So the sounds from outside come right through the outside walls. This QI is quite dated, and lacks the basic upgrades I have come to expect with Choice properties. Bedding is OLD and worn. Pillows are OLD and need to be replaced. A/C units in the several rooms I have used rattle when the compressor engages. Then there are the VERY BRIGHT lights outside, that cannot be shaded out by the old drapery in the rooms. So the room is lit up like morning even though it is really dark outside. Not sure why they do that, except maybe the fact that this is not in the most desirable part of Roanoke.

The killer which drove me away include a VERY SLOW WiFi system which has a terrible range, and the attitude of the desk clerk who basically didn't give a rat's rear end if I stayed there or not, and I am a Diamond Elite member with Choice. The guy probably isn't a bad guy, but he's just turning the crank, waiting for his shift to end.

Finally I have switched to a more expensive ($10), but much better hotel in Salem, VA, about 10 miles away. I would not recommend this Quality Inn, especially if travelling with children.

Room Tip: If this is a last resort, try to get a room on the BACK side. The outside lights are les intrusive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Tanglewood

Address: 3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Quality Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.