We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Tanglewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Tanglewood to your Saves list
Quality Inn Tanglewood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
“Stay Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a nice place to stay. It has everything going for it. The room was very clean and looked like it had been recently redone. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was nice and inviting, and everything was well stocked. They had French toast, bagels, donuts, fresh fruit, sausage, juices, and assorted cereal.
Please note, this is a two story property with no elevator. Be sure to ask for a first floor location if the stairs will be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear as some face the front and roadway. We were in the back and it was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    10
    18
    21
See reviews for
13
25
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Have stayed at this place on business several times, each time swearing I would find another place in Roanoke. But the $59 AARP rate kept me returning. The place has continued to deteriorate, unfortuately, over the past 2-3 years.

This is an old converted Holiday Inn, with the aluminum window frames and outside doors. So the sounds from outside come right through the outside walls. This QI is quite dated, and lacks the basic upgrades I have come to expect with Choice properties. Bedding is OLD and worn. Pillows are OLD and need to be replaced. A/C units in the several rooms I have used rattle when the compressor engages. Then there are the VERY BRIGHT lights outside, that cannot be shaded out by the old drapery in the rooms. So the room is lit up like morning even though it is really dark outside. Not sure why they do that, except maybe the fact that this is not in the most desirable part of Roanoke.

The killer which drove me away include a VERY SLOW WiFi system which has a terrible range, and the attitude of the desk clerk who basically didn't give a rat's rear end if I stayed there or not, and I am a Diamond Elite member with Choice. The guy probably isn't a bad guy, but he's just turning the crank, waiting for his shift to end.

Finally I have switched to a more expensive ($10), but much better hotel in Salem, VA, about 10 miles away. I would not recommend this Quality Inn, especially if travelling with children.

Room Tip: If this is a last resort, try to get a room on the BACK side. The outside lights are les intrusive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Spent the night here since it was the first motel we saw after a day on the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway. The lady running the desk that night was very nice but that is where the good experience stopped. I will upload pics of the room showing mold in bathroom, empty kleenex box slot, burned or dirty ironing board cover, cigarette burns on carpet and bedspread, spiderwebs on the wall, peeling wallpaper and an electric cord challel falling off the wall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayuta Lake
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I am a fan of Room Saver and planned to spend the night on Rte 81 but a helpful hostess at the Visitor Center in Fancy Gap told us that the ride to Roanoke on the Blue Ridge Parkway was beautiful and the Quality Inn would be comfortable. She called to get rates and it was under $60. The room was clean, in mostly good repair (the bathtub was botched) and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Would I stay there again? For Sure.. And The restaurant across the road, Montano's was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

I was worried after reading some reviews, but its not that bad. we slept great in our nice king bed. our room had a choice of a bathtub shower or stall shower. It was clean enough for a great price. The breakfast was good. Staff friendly and helpful. The room may not have been perfect but it was good enough for our 2night stay. Id stay again. The frig /freezer and microwave clean and I liked that it was in a separate area from our bed. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doswell, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed here for a business trip and I didn't really enjoy it. I understand that this is a budget hotel. But that's no excuse for having cold water, a bug in the room and an overall crappy looking carpet. I don't know how I got any sleep here because the look of this room just creeped me out. I should've called my boss and asked for another hotel.

The front desk staff was friendly, and I appreciate that. But I will never stay here again, because it's not worth it to me.

Room Tip: This hotel is on the south end of Roanoke, so it's a little more residential/local-friendly than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We needed a safe,convenient, inexpensive hotel for one night in order to attend a memorial service the following day. It was only the two of us.

At less than $75.00 for the night ( including all taxes, a generic breakfast, and fast,free internet, this Quality Inn's location and comfort fit the bill.

Sure, it wasn't fancy, but the beds ( two doubles ) were comfortable and the room was clean.

Some caulk was missing around the CLEAN tub/shower, but the towels were fresh, the water was instantly hot, and the other amenities worked ( light switches/t.v./heat lamp-fan/heating/air conditioning worked well.

Check-in was easy. The night attendant was polite and efficient. parking was convenient. the non-smoking room was just that...smoke free, but you could hear the water pipes drain from the room above when the bathroom was used.

So, would I stay there for a family vacation? Probably not. But would I hesitate to stay there for a night or two because I had business to attend to near by? Not al all.

Like I said...Good Value and convenient.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms should have less/no drain pipe noise from a toilet being flushed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Tanglewood

Address: 3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Quality Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.