We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless moldy, falling apart rooms are okay with you.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Tanglewood to your Saves list
Quality Inn Tanglewood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid unless moldy, falling apart rooms are okay with you.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Spent the night here since it was the first motel we saw after a day on the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway. The lady running the desk that night was very nice but that is where the good experience stopped. I will upload pics of the room showing mold in bathroom, empty kleenex box slot, burned or dirty ironing board cover, cigarette burns on carpet and bedspread, spiderwebs on the wall, peeling wallpaper and an electric cord challel falling off the wall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    10
    16
    21
See reviews for
13
24
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kayuta Lake
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I am a fan of Room Saver and planned to spend the night on Rte 81 but a helpful hostess at the Visitor Center in Fancy Gap told us that the ride to Roanoke on the Blue Ridge Parkway was beautiful and the Quality Inn would be comfortable. She called to get rates and it was under $60. The room was clean, in mostly good repair (the bathtub was botched) and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Would I stay there again? For Sure.. And The restaurant across the road, Montano's was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

I was worried after reading some reviews, but its not that bad. we slept great in our nice king bed. our room had a choice of a bathtub shower or stall shower. It was clean enough for a great price. The breakfast was good. Staff friendly and helpful. The room may not have been perfect but it was good enough for our 2night stay. Id stay again. The frig /freezer and microwave clean and I liked that it was in a separate area from our bed. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doswell, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed here for a business trip and I didn't really enjoy it. I understand that this is a budget hotel. But that's no excuse for having cold water, a bug in the room and an overall crappy looking carpet. I don't know how I got any sleep here because the look of this room just creeped me out. I should've called my boss and asked for another hotel.

The front desk staff was friendly, and I appreciate that. But I will never stay here again, because it's not worth it to me.

Room Tip: This hotel is on the south end of Roanoke, so it's a little more residential/local-friendly than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We needed a safe,convenient, inexpensive hotel for one night in order to attend a memorial service the following day. It was only the two of us.

At less than $75.00 for the night ( including all taxes, a generic breakfast, and fast,free internet, this Quality Inn's location and comfort fit the bill.

Sure, it wasn't fancy, but the beds ( two doubles ) were comfortable and the room was clean.

Some caulk was missing around the CLEAN tub/shower, but the towels were fresh, the water was instantly hot, and the other amenities worked ( light switches/t.v./heat lamp-fan/heating/air conditioning worked well.

Check-in was easy. The night attendant was polite and efficient. parking was convenient. the non-smoking room was just that...smoke free, but you could hear the water pipes drain from the room above when the bathroom was used.

So, would I stay there for a family vacation? Probably not. But would I hesitate to stay there for a night or two because I had business to attend to near by? Not al all.

Like I said...Good Value and convenient.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms should have less/no drain pipe noise from a toilet being flushed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Front desk staff, friendly and professional. Bedroom, neat and tidy. HOWEVER, the bathroom had mold on every surface except for the sink counter and the floor. Above the door, in the shower, on the tub tiles, on the walls. Very unsanitary. There also was a leak from the unit above that made a large puddle in front of the toilet, during the night. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're not sure about the quality of the room being offered, take a few minutes to have them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Save your Money, go elsewhere. They should have paid us to stay!

For 80.00 a night we got: 1. dirty bathroom 2. dirty floors, walls and surfaces. 3. Phone so dirty you could scrape the dirt off, if you were brave enough to touch it 4. Had to wash coffee maker before using, and clean someone else's hair out from under it, 5. No soap 6. No blanket on bed 7. Bed had definitely not been changed from previous guest and when complained, was handed "clean sheets and pillowcases to change it myself 8. baseboard had fallen off the wall and lying in the floor 9. dresser drawer fell off when opened 10. air conditioner did it's own thing, first hot air then ice cold all without changing the settings 11. refrigerator fell out of its cubicle when the door was opened. 12. small square hard foam rubber pillows 13. dirty bedspread (blood spots) 14. tub would not drain after taking a shower 15. shower controls were loose and operated somewhat like the air conditioner. I really don't think they have any housekeeping department.

If it hadn't been getting late and had already left one establishment because of the filth, would have never stayed but desperation kicked in ;(

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Tanglewood

Address: 3816 Franklin Rd. SW, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Quality Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.