We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Roanoke to your Saves list
Ramada Roanoke
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1927 Franklin Road, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NEVER again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Frequent traveler, but have never felt compelled to write a review until now. Shocked this can be a Ramada. No excuse for any lodging to be in such a condition. Had we arrived earlier and not been so exhausted from driving 14 hrs, we would have left. Hotel chosen for location/pet-friendliness (for additional fee). On arrival, room was hot (A/C turned off on a 100% day). Smelled bad, we thought just musty. Seemed like forever before room began to cool down, but when it did it began to reek of pet urine. After a room inspection (we used our vehicle flashlight due to blown bulbs and non-working fixtures) it was obvious room had been neglected of normal basic cleaning and certainly hadn’t received additional pet cleaning. Cosmetically - holes in wall crudely patched by masking tape and painted over. Wall access panel beside nightstand was oversized plyboard attached with screws, carpeted base wall trim falling off, light fixture in shower was cracked. Toilet and shower appeared clean, but bathroom floor was dirty as was the powder room area outside bathroom. Vanity was nasty and corner wall in need of repair. Area not suitable to place a zipped toiletries bag there. Entire room dusty/dirty, drapes smelled, carpets were unbelievably grimy and stained throughout. Rundow, stained furniture, and ancient yellowed appliances connected by extension cords encased in dirt. Surprisingly, the king bed seemed fairly new, sheets appeared clean, and bed pillows seemed new, but the overall inspection left us upset and uneasy. We knew sleep wasn’t possible, but thought since bed seemed OK we could at least rest a bit, and hopefully so would our pet who always travels with a portable bed that keeps her off the floor. WRONG ASSUMPTION. Our pet whimpered and didn’t rest well…clearly she was as uncomfortable as we were. Then, around 10:30pm loud vehicles, music and yelling erupted outside our door from the hotel parking lot as vehicles arrived and started partying. This lasted over two hours without management interceding. We left early the next morning with a less than sincere apology at checkout that our stay was not a pleasant one. One of the most disappointing and the worst hotel stay ever. Still feeling nauseous from the experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    39
    59
    77
    128
See reviews for
112
93
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Hi, I'm not one to write reviews. I think everyone should draw their own opinions. But in this case I must.................. This hotel is very dated and dirty. The sheets smelled clean, but who really knows. The ice machines do not work, the vending machines on the floors do not work, the internet does not connect, the towels were stained, but smelled clean, there were spots on the wall, may have been chocolate or poo.., who knows, there were plenty of cob webs and dust bunnies to go around. There is some type of crawl space in the closet, kinda creepy!!!! They do allow pets so they may have fleas in some rooms. I just glad we didn't get bitten by any. Mosquito's plague the air due to the small river/creek that the motels sits on. I guess the best thing about the hotel is that it is very close to Roanoke Memorial Hosptial. Oh and they did serve a hot breakfast but I didn't make it in to check it out and the pool had clean water but the cement and chairs could have used a good sweeping! I'm really not a picky person, but even this was a bit much for me.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorksc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

when we got cheeked in and went to our room the key card would not work. then we found that the sheets wheir dirty and bathroom was dirty.pool was green as a cucumber.at cheeck in we wheir told that they had a full breakfast bar in the mornings when we went down the next morning we only found doughnuts and coffie. now i dont call that afull bar. the hole place was a let down .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

The price was $50 for 1 night. The outside of the hotel and the buildings looked like it needed improvement. The inside of the lobby and my room looked like a lot better. It looked like a regular higher priced hotel. I would recommend the hotel or Ramada chain to use some of the money to improve the look of the outside. The pool was there but not in service. The pool looked bad. I hope it's just the offseason and not it's regular look in the summer. The fitness room that I saw was small and had just cardio equipment and no weights. The room had a frig and TV was Lodgenet. The location seemed to be OK. The only thing that I went out to do was eat fastfood. The variety of the continental breakfast was more than the average. If I get biscuits and gravy, then it's a good meal and I got that. I didn't use the Internet or lobby computers. I had 1 bug in my room that I didn't know what it was and it didn't bother me, so I let it go. In summary, the only major drawbacks were the appearances of the buildings and pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, PA, USA
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Stayed overnite enroute south, and found it to be clean, comfortable, and a good value for the price. Continental breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

water views are usually welcome sites but in the case of this motel it brought unwelcome consequences. We were awoken by a phone call some time after midnight telling us to move our car as it may be in a flood area. Then came the knock on the door saying we were being evacuated to higher ground as the water was quickly rising in the flood gate.
Groggily we packed our stuff and followed in a daze (in our nighties) the staff who gave us a room on the third floor. The sound of rushing water (and yawns) followed us into the night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

I was very concerned after I'd read some of the reviews. Room #112 was clean, comfortable, with a fidge & microwave. Didn't see any evidence of bugs. Shower had great water pressure. Booked thru Hotwire & received a great value for the money. All the employees we encountered were couteous and gracious. I would stay again if I get back to Roanoke.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Roanoke

Address: 1927 Franklin Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Roanoke 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Roanoke, Virginia is next to Rivers Edge Park & across Carillon Roanoke Memorial Hospital and conveniently located near the Roanoke River, Roanoke Memorial Hospital, Mill Mountain and Historic Downtown Roanoke. The Mill Mountain Zoo, Roanoke Star, Roanoke Civic Centre, Roanoke Farmers Market and Tanglewoood Mall are all within 2 miles of this Roanoke Ramada. This Hotel is now under complete new management and we have enhanced our Services and Amenities. Ramada offers Free Full Breakfast Buffet, Free High Speed Wireless Internet in every room, Fitness Center, Business Center(free), Outdoor Pool, Meeting and Conference Rooms, Banquet, Ball Rooms for Wedding and Reception. Ramada has 124 guest rooms including King Bed Room, Double Bed Room, Queen Room and Suites. Ramada also offers wheelchair accessible rooms, non smoking and smoking rooms. Small pets are allowed. Every room has free wireless internet, Satellite TV with HBO, Pay per view movies, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing board and Air conditioner. At Ramada We have 2 Ballrooms, We can Customize them according to your requirement. Outside Food is allowed in Hotel. Outside Caterers are allowed at no extra Charge. Kitchen is also available at extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - River`s Edge Hotel Roanoke
Ramada Inn Roanoke
Ramada Inn Rivers Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.