We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Updating Badly...can't believe this is a Ramada!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Roanoke to your Saves list
Ramada Roanoke
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1927 Franklin Road, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Needs Updating Badly...can't believe this is a Ramada!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I could not believe this hotel was a Ramada!! I have stayed at several Ramada Inn's in my travels throughout the world, usually because they are at least one step up from too thrifty if you know what I mean. My husband and I were travelling by motorcycle along the Blue Ridge Parkway and found several other great, inexpensive hotels along the way to stay at, but this one just didn't cut it.

This one was border line dumpy.....old and outdated, dark and dank bathroom area. The bed was was big enough, but the headboard was falling off the back of it....I am sure our neighbours thought there was some fun stuff happening next door everytime we sat on it.....it banged off the wall! The carpet was not bare feet material.....bring your indoor shoes for this tangy smelling villa. The room was big enough, but the fixtures were all old and wearing down. Chips, dents, broken, frayed, torn.....it's time for a room update folks! I am pretty positive that at one time, perhaps back in 1982 it looked and smelled ok here....and from the fake rose petals we found on the floor by the bed....someone, at some point tried to make this room romantic. Yikes!

The one gentleman on the front desk when we checked in couldn't have been more cheerful and helpful...but the gal the next morning looked and acted like she might have stayed there overnight.....not a morning person perhaps. The free continental breakfast was ok.....nothing special. Cereals, yogurts, donuts, muffins, juices.....great for kids I suppose.

Finding this hotel was really difficult....we saw a sign from the interstate we were on, and it said 3 miles in.....we must have travelled at least 6 or 8 all over the map before finally finding it. This Ramada is not in the best of spots.....not a very nice area of town. You need to travel to the nearest mall for restaurants, and if you are a non-smoker do not venture in to "Awful Arthur's Seafood".....we walked in to eat and felt like we just smoked a pack of cigarettes, so we walked right back out again. It smelled truly "awful in arthurs".

I would not go back to this hotel unless they upgraded their rooms and put in new fixtures..... even then, I would be hard pressed to stay in that area of town again too....it was one step up from a dump to be sure!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    54
    75
    95
    137
See reviews for
139
106
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We booked last minute and I did not read any reviews, what a huge mistake! I new I made a mistake when a Police helicopter circled overhead, and the Rivers edge is a storm drain, Dirty Dirty Dirty. The room was filthy, there was a brown stain that was oozing down the wall. When I complained to the staff I was told I had a good room. STAY Away.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Had to move to another room second night because of bed bug bites. Yes i did my home work as to what the bites look like.

  • Liked — probally the breakfast bar
  • Disliked — outside of building
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

first of all, don't believe the pictures on their website. just imagine all the white surfaces stained with nasty black mold. This is the nastiest hotel i have stayed in EVER! We were even scared to sleep on the bed AND step on the floor in there. I can't believe the city even let's this hotel stay open. Those pictures were taken the first day that hotel was built and doesn't look nothing like that now. If you stay somewhere like that you might as well stay at a Motel 8 and get if for cheaper.

  • Liked — nothing, it was dirty
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

No reservation, just used a Interstate Guide and arrived to a run down, smelly room. Garbage still in the pail in the room. Musty smell. Stained carpets and ceilings. Totally unexpected from a Ramada named hotel. Obvious rentals to short term transients. front desk clerk polite and refunded our money without any problem at all but again I would not recommend this hotel as it falls far below the standard of the usual Ramada Inn.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We booked 2 nights for a trip we were taking up through the Blue Ridge Parkway. We wanted to stay 2 days and then head back. We we arrived the room we were promised, which was supposed to be close to the elevator, which it wasn't , was not even ready. It was supposed to nonsmoking and the previous guests had smoked and drank plenty. The elevator and back partking lot looked like crack alley. I mean, it was scary. When we saw the room, we absolutely refused to stay. The beds were like pancakes and the rooms were old and dirty. I really would be scared to stay here. I will say the staff did not charge us and we got in our car and went to the Holiday Inn. Which looked like a palace after being at this hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything, flithy and scary
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

We just arrived, coudn't find anything else in town, they wouldn't honour their own coupons, but we decided to stay anyway. I echo the other reviewers - it's filthy - corridors, lifts, rooms (even the walls of the rooms) do not stay here if you have a choice...

  • Liked — easy to find
  • Disliked — filthy
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Roanoke

Address: 1927 Franklin Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Roanoke 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Roanoke, Virginia is next to Rivers Edge Park & across Carillon Roanoke Memorial Hospital and conveniently located near the Roanoke River, Roanoke Memorial Hospital, Mill Mountain and Historic Downtown Roanoke. The Mill Mountain Zoo, Roanoke Star, Roanoke Civic Centre, Roanoke Farmers Market and Tanglewoood Mall are all within 2 miles of this Roanoke Ramada. This Hotel is now under complete new management and we have enhanced our Services and Amenities. Ramada offers Free Full Breakfast Buffet, Free High Speed Wireless Internet in every room, Fitness Center, Business Center(free), Outdoor Pool, Meeting and Conference Rooms, Banquet, Ball Rooms for Wedding and Reception. Ramada has 124 guest rooms including King Bed Room, Double Bed Room, Queen Room and Suites. Ramada also offers wheelchair accessible rooms, non smoking and smoking rooms. Small pets are allowed. Every room has free wireless internet, Satellite TV with HBO, Pay per view movies, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing board and Air conditioner. At Ramada We have 2 Ballrooms, We can Customize them according to your requirement. Outside Food is allowed in Hotel. Outside Caterers are allowed at no extra Charge. Kitchen is also available at extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - River`s Edge Hotel Roanoke
Ramada Inn Roanoke
Ramada Inn Rivers Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.