We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider the this a place to crash” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ramada Roanoke to your Saves list
Ramada Roanoke
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1927 Franklin Road, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Fremont, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consider the this a place to crash”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I and dog stayed for 5 days in June. The price was exceptionally cheap for a place with a pool and a hot breakfast. This is a great place to access the River Greenway for dog walks.

With that said, The place is well worn and needs some better maintenance. The stairwell doors are bent up, open hard and the stairwell smelled like urine. (Pets?). Since it is a cheaper place various contractors use the place, the guests can be a little rough looking at times and the smokers are a little more inconsiderate. The air conditioners were old and noisy. We asked to change rooms because the air conditioner could not keep the room below 75 when it was 85 outside. The other rooms we checked had an air conditioner was that was quieter but it could not keep up either. Some of the rooms we checked smelled musty because the air conditioner condensate was running back into the room and making the rug wet.

My suggestion is if you want to save money and use this place talk to the receptionist first and ask for a room that doesn't smell musty. Check the room out before you bring your luggage up. Make sure it is clean, the sink drains work, and make sure the air conditioner is working well and is not too noisy.

Room Tip: Talk to the receptionist and ask for a quiet modern air conditioner. Check the room out before you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    54
    76
    126
See reviews for
106
90
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If everything else is booked, stay here. This was probably a nice hotel in it's time. I had to go buy Fabreze because the room smelled. The stairwells smelled like urine. There's a moat. The nationally known chain should consider pulling their name off of this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here on a whim on our way to Ocean City, MD. Never again! So gross, everything smelled of urine, in and out of the room! Could not believe how nasty this place was! I felt dirty just being there! Oh, and their "full breakfast" was not at all as advertised! It was a continental breakfast with powdered eggs. The only saving grace was that the bathroom in our room was remarkably clean compared to the rest of the place, and the view from the third floor balcony was very pretty... but you can get both of those at another, less disgusting hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here... ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

On a road trip and booked this hotel from the road. None of us have phones to check reviews. We found it in one of those coupon books from a visitor's center. It was horrible. We had 4 adults in our party. Both rooms were disgusting. Food under chair cushions, food under the bed in my sister's room, obvious dirt in corners of the bathrooms. We shouldn't have stayed but demanded our money back and left. The hotel itself was in disrepair, crumbling walls, ragged carpets. Who would want to eat the breakfast?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is the worst hotel stay ever. It either needs to be updated and improved or put out of business. Room smelled horrific, burn holes in blankets, stains on the chairs, air conditioning doesn't give out cold air and anything else you can think of. Will never stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winder
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was terrible. It smelt of cat urine. It was trashy. There were kids throwing fire crackers down to the second floir. We were fearful of our safety, so we left and canceled immediately. Don't try to stay

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Roanoke

Address: 1927 Franklin Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Roanoke 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Roanoke, Virginia is next to Rivers Edge Park & across Carillon Roanoke Memorial Hospital and conveniently located near the Roanoke River, Roanoke Memorial Hospital, Mill Mountain and Historic Downtown Roanoke. The Mill Mountain Zoo, Roanoke Star, Roanoke Civic Centre, Roanoke Farmers Market and Tanglewoood Mall are all within 2 miles of this Roanoke Ramada. This Hotel is now under complete new management and we have enhanced our Services and Amenities. Ramada offers Free Full Breakfast Buffet, Free High Speed Wireless Internet in every room, Fitness Center, Business Center(free), Outdoor Pool, Meeting and Conference Rooms, Banquet, Ball Rooms for Wedding and Reception. Ramada has 124 guest rooms including King Bed Room, Double Bed Room, Queen Room and Suites. Ramada also offers wheelchair accessible rooms, non smoking and smoking rooms. Small pets are allowed. Every room has free wireless internet, Satellite TV with HBO, Pay per view movies, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing board and Air conditioner. At Ramada We have 2 Ballrooms, We can Customize them according to your requirement. Outside Food is allowed in Hotel. Outside Caterers are allowed at no extra Charge. Kitchen is also available at extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - River`s Edge Hotel Roanoke
Ramada Inn Roanoke
Ramada Inn Rivers Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.