We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Ramada Roanoke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Roanoke
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1927 Franklin Road, Roanoke, VA 24014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #30 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
New Castle, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I just wanted to say I absolutely loved this property we stayed at ramada on our actual wedding night before we left for our honeymoon, it was a wonderful experience, I rented their beautiful banquet room for my reception and it turned out wonderful its huge in there and they have two gourgeous cazebos and a dance floor, they specially put out for us, we had it put in the middle of floor under the blacklights where the ceiling is a drop ceiling there and it was just so beautiful. The room was excellent very clean and very spacious! My husband and i were stunned, very happy! I really loved the staff they were excellent and the breakfast the next morning was delightful too. We will deffiently be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    33
    50
    71
    120
See reviews for
100
87
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this Ramada. On the way to DC, we both were tired of long drive, when we arrived at the lobby late night to check in, a cheerful and polite front desk clerk hands us our room keys within minutes, he reminded us about complimentary hot breakfast and free wifi,( he later brought extra towel and pillow to our room even at middle of the night when we asked for it.) No complains so far about the room or shower because our room was clean, bathroom was well set and clean, had a nice and comfortable king size bed and cable tv. Next morning, we went for fresh morning walk for few miles on river walk and the park next to the hotel. I can't complain about their breakfast since they had a variety of items to choose from, i like biscuit & gravy with eggs, my wife likes waffle, i wanted some fruits but they had fresh juices which is just fine, Huge TV at breakfast bar was impressive. When I contact the front desk to ask about checkout time, a Nice lady at frontdesk told me, since we still have few hours before checkout time, she suggested we may visit Downtown which is just few minutes drive from hotel, Roanoke Star- couple of miles up the hill, few shopping centers with in a mile radius and Malls not that far from hotel. She gave us few local maps and directions, which was very helpful. She even printed the direction to DC for us at check out. We drove to Roanoke Star, enjoyed the view of Roanoke valley from the top of the hill. We are pleased with the service and their attempt to provide the best they can, for the price we paid what else could we expect. We sure will stop by this Ramada on the way back home. Negative side; lots of people at breakfast(but i understand, that must be a busy night for hotel). Employees seems to be concerned about the guests and their needs and were eager to help when asked. My wife says,"I like this Ramada", we are definitely going to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Ramada should be ashamed to have their name associated with this place.

Checked in, thinking we had a found a bargin at $40.00 a night.

Just needed a room for one night for an early appointment at Roanoke Mem. Hospital. Carried the luggage to the room, turned the lights on, checked the bathroom and immediately went back to the front desk and requested a refund of our money. 10 minutes total.

The other negative reviews are not exaggerated. Very, very run down, a pungent unpleasant smell in the room and DIRTY, to top it off, the toilet would not flush and the air conditioning was having a hard time running. There comes a time when some things are past cleaning and/or rehabilitation, and I think this Ramada is at that point.

On the positive side,the front desk clerk was cheerful and pleasant while refunding our money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn City, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Thought we were getting a deal at $58 a night for a Ramada. We were wrong! Just wanted a long weekend to ourselves but had to share it with loud screaming neighbors using profanity as well as bugs crawling on the walls. Tried to call the front desk several times at 2:30 AM to complain but no one would answer. The building is old with sunkin concrete hallways in the breezeway as well as loose tiles to trip over (I'm surprised the recent earthquake on the east coast didn't destroy the place).. The AC had food particles visible in the vents and stank like mold and mildew when we turned it on, and so did we the next morning. The safety chain was broken on the door so I pushed one of the chairs against it just to make us feel safer. The lobby and the front entrance area was clean and refreshing, why not our room? We chose a smoking room because we smoke but that doesn't mean the room has to be filthy! We complained when we checked out, the desk clerk admitted house keeping apparently wasn't doing their job and would investigate. Doesn't matter, we'll not stay there again!

Room Tip: Don't know about all the rooms, ours was nasty. Loud screaming neighbors at 2:30 AM but no answe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

All in all this place was ok, but I would prefer it to be more clean. Decor was outdated, which is ok for the price. The hotel is pet friendly, and I'm fine with that. But if you allow pets I think more effort needs to be put into cleanliness!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

I was here last month and stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Hotel room was huge, and bathrooms was clean. Room got basic amenities which are common in chains now a days; fridge, tv, paid movies, microwave and free wi-fi internet. Internet speed was good and there was no problem in accessing internet in any part of the hotel. Hotel looks newly renovated as outside building and inside of the hotel is very different. Booked online and got 20% offer discount and average night cost me $46! Better hotel with even better price.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Suite room was full of sensuality, we had fun. Beautiful hot tub. We just loved it in there. Can't wait for coming back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Roanoke

Address: 1927 Franklin Road, Roanoke, VA 24014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Roanoke 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Roanoke, Virginia is next to Rivers Edge Park & across Carillon Roanoke Memorial Hospital and conveniently located near the Roanoke River, Roanoke Memorial Hospital, Mill Mountain and Historic Downtown Roanoke. The Mill Mountain Zoo, Roanoke Star, Roanoke Civic Centre, Roanoke Farmers Market and Tanglewoood Mall are all within 2 miles of this Roanoke Ramada. This Hotel is now under complete new management and we have enhanced our Services and Amenities. Ramada offers Free Full Breakfast Buffet, Free High Speed Wireless Internet in every room, Fitness Center, Business Center(free), Outdoor Pool, Meeting and Conference Rooms, Banquet, Ball Rooms for Wedding and Reception. Ramada has 124 guest rooms including King Bed Room, Double Bed Room, Queen Room and Suites. Ramada also offers wheelchair accessible rooms, non smoking and smoking rooms. Small pets are allowed. Every room has free wireless internet, Satellite TV with HBO, Pay per view movies, Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing board and Air conditioner. At Ramada We have 2 Ballrooms, We can Customize them according to your requirement. Outside Food is allowed in Hotel. Outside Caterers are allowed at no extra Charge. Kitchen is also available at extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - River`s Edge Hotel Roanoke
Ramada Inn Roanoke
Ramada Inn Rivers Edge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.