We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Roanoke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Roanoke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5040 Valley View Blvd N, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #13 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Stafford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Place this weekend as we were doing college tours with our daughter. We are a family of six and needed a hotel that could accomodate us in one room.
The Hyatt Place has suites that include 2 double beds and a seperate sitting area with a sectional that has a pull out sofa sleeper. The room was so large and well maintained. The room was spotlessly clean as well as the bathroom. We had plenty of space to spread out and do our own thing. They have 42 inch flat screen tv's in the room which is great when sitting on the sectional or laying on the beds. There is a wetbar area with a refrigerator which came in handy to keep drinks cold. The vanity area is seperate from the toilet and tub area. Again, plenty of space for two people to get ready in the morning while another is in the shower.
The free continental breakfast is a nice addition. They did have other hot items available for all meals of the day for an additional charge. We were able to satisfy ourselves with the free items, but there were many other guests that ordered the hot food items and it all looked good.
The kids played in the indoor pool and said the water was nice and warm. There are tables and chairs and loungers that we relaxed on while the kids were in the pool.
The staff was all very welcoming and friendly in all parts of the hotel. Everyone greeted us with a warm smile and friendly greeting.
If you are in this area and need a great place to stay at a reasonable rate, stay here. The hotel truly is just like the pictures on their site.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
We are so glad your family had a great stay with us! Traveling with a family of 6 is a challenge with having enough beds for everyone in just 1 room. The design of Hyatt Place is perfect for families traveling with more than 1-2 children; plenty of room to spread out.

We pride ourselves on the condition of our guestrooms & the customer service our staff delivers. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on Trip Advisor. We hope you if you return to Roanoke in the future you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    61
    31
    11
    5
See reviews for
59
38
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Like all HP's I've stayed in, this place had a very comfortable bed. And like all HP's I've stayed in, the room layout is hugh but a little goofy.
The bath room here was a little old and the combination of a curtain and shower head that must have put out 5 GPM mad for a small flood.
A good choice if you're staying in Roanoke.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Thanks for staying at the Hyatt Place while you were in Roanoke this past weekend! We hope you will stay with us again when you are in this area.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Really surprised by the value. Very accomodating staff. Nice rooms. Food at bar needs a lot of help. Horrible beer and wine list. No real dining facilities.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Roanoke; we appreciate your feedback on our food & beverage selections.

Hyatt is still working with the food offerings for the Hyatt Place hotels since they are not equipped with full kitchens it limits the food we can offer. Hyatt also gives us our wine selection & we have control on the beer selections.

I will pass along your comments to Hyatt Franchise F&B Director.

We appreciate your business & hope that you will stay with us on your next trip.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Neck of Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

I stay in suites as often as possible, mostly Doubletree. Ocasionally, we land at a Hyatt Place. First stayed in an Amerisuites property in Raleigh in 2004 for a ball tournament and have always enjoyed return trips.

The Roanoke property is top notch. Breakfast is solid, but needed more seating, at least it did when we were in the Star City.

Not as much of a value as we like with travel ball, but 10/10/10 was evidently a busy wedding weekend and VT was playing as well.

The Sales Dept. (Amanda) was wonderful to work with in setting all our rooms up. Another great experience at Hyatt Place.

Oh...........I forgot, the TV is real big!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My wife & I stayed one night this past weekend. I'd read the reviews and seen the website, but still was unsure what to expect from the unconventional layout everyone was talking about. But the moment I opened the door to the room it made perfect sense. One area for relaxing and working, which included a very comfy sectional sofa, a nice working desk, and a counter with sink for supplying water for the coffee maker. The other area (separated by a small wall) had the bed, another counter with sink, and a closet. Next to that sink (behind a door) was the bathroom, which consisted of the toilet and full tub. This worked out well because when one of us was in the bathroom, the other could be putting on her makeup over the sink, each with total privacy! In front of the closet, sitting in between the two areas, was the 42" Hi def tv, easily viewable from either area because it swiveled.

Roughly a bazillion restaurants of all types to be found within 1/2 mile, and the Valley View mall also within 1/2 mile. The hotel furnishings were modern, and very comfortable. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro area
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Hotel off I-581 next to the Valley View Mall. Staff was friendly but we had trouble checking in as the neither of the two people behind the counter had a password to make reservations in their computer. We were told getting a room with two queen beds, turns out they were double size only. Room layout was different as the front part of the room had a sectional couch, desk, and small sink area. Partial walls separated this area from bed area. The bed area had the bathroom sink facing the beds and the bathroom was very small and cramped with just the shower and toilet. Large flat screen tv was located at the mid point between the living and bed areas. Room was clean. Hotel has a limited free continental breakfast, and can make eggs and other limited warm breakfast food, but expect to pay a lot for it. Plenty of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This was my first stay in a Hyatt Place hotel, but it certainly won't be my last. The regular rate is affordable, but I got a $50 rate using Priceline Name Your Own Price. The hotel is exactly as it appears in the pictures on the website... contemporary, sophisticated design ( considering that it is an inexpensive limited service hotel). Rooms are large, comfortable and well-designed with all of the technology that a business or leisure traveler could want.

The hotel has a basic quick service kitchen that prepares food upon request 24/7 along with a nice limited service bar. The lobby is, therefore, full of activity... which can be good or bad, depending on your taste. The staff was polite but seemed to be overwhelmed by responsibility for manning the check-in desk, answering the phone and serving food and drink.

The hotel features a very nice indoor pool. Location directly adjacent to Valley View Mall and five minutes from the airport is ideal. Downtown is a mere 10 minutes away.

Great hotel. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Roanoke

Address: 5040 Valley View Blvd N, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Roanoke 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location at Valley View Mall; 2 miles from the airport, 5 miles from downtown Roanoke & 25+ restaurants within a 1 mile. Complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius; including the airport.All rooms are suite style with living & sleeping areas, sofas, 42" HGTV, Free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel. Large indoor heated pool & fitness center. Complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport/Valley View Mall Hotel Roanoke
Hyatt Roanoke
Roanoke Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.