We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud HVAC cut our trip short” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Roanoke to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Roanoke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5040 Valley View Blvd N, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loud HVAC cut our trip short”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We planned to stay for 2 nights, but a sleepless night sent us home early. I did not sleep the first night, at all, which was torture. We left the next day. The loud HVAC kept me up the whole time. Had I been alone,
I would have changed rooms, but we children with us. The building was old and in need of updates. The bathroom was average in the cleanliness department. Disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
I would like to apologize for your trip being cut short due to some issues with your HVAC. We are in the process of getting all of our HVAC updated at this time. In addition I have taken note of your concern with the pool not being opened at the right time and fully stocked with towels. I have discussed this with our staff and it has been address to ensure it does not happen again in the future. We are also going to be doing some major renovations in the near future to address the concerns you mentioned about looking old. We hope to have basically a brand new hotel by this time next year. It is our hope that you will give us another chance to give you the true Hyatt experience that is not only expected but deserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    69
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
68
40
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were in town for 3 nights on a family trip. We booked the hotel for it's proximity to main highways/airport and got a pretty good rate on the AARP website. It is close to shopping and restaurants if you want that. It is modern, clean, but the lobby is very small with a breakfast room/coffee and snack area/bar all attached to the check in desk. There is a large pool with excellent water temp but you have to walk through a cold breezeway to get there and even though it was supposed to be open at 6 AM two out of three mornings no lights were on and few towels were stocked at 6:15. The biggest surprise was that there is no drawer space in the room to unpack when staying for a few days/nights. No dresser, no bedside drawers, very tiny closet which was tucked around a corner and difficult to get into. The other unusual setup included a too large desk, bar area (refrigerator, no microwave), and small sofa(the only other chair to sit in was the desk chair). Just didn't make sense to us to have a large scale room with no storage nor seating for 4 people. The cold breakfast items were decent-what, no waffle maker? no eggs?-but tasteless breakfast sandwiches and pancakes which suffered a bit from trying to keep them warm for hours. All in all, I think there are more satisfying places to consider with many options in the immediate area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
I want to apologize for your less than satisfactory stay with us. We understand that there are needs that we were unable to meet during your stay. We have updated some of our breakfast items to include eggs, sausage, waffles and many more items on a rotation with many of our breakfast items that we currently offer. Feedback such as this is appreciated to aide us in improving our hotel to try and meet all needs and requests for all of our guest. We hope that you give us another opportunity to show you what improvements have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were going to Roanoke for a wedding. Looking for a place to stay near the wedding venue, we came across several choices. Some were already booked up. Some didn't rate highly enough. We decided to choose Hyatt Place even though we had never stayed at one. But with the Hyatt name attached, we felt comfortable. Plus, it had breakfast included and WiFi -- two things we always look for when booking a hotel.

We checked in. The clerk was ultra friendly -- offered us a tour, told us about all the options and offerings. The room was really nice. It was large, well-appointed. There was a desk area, a sofa area, a huge flat screen TV, a king sized bed and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable.

We would definitely recommend it and would use it again if it were available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are so happy that we were able to accommodate you during such a special event such as wedding. We are also delighted that we could offer some of the key amenities that you look for such as free hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi. We hope to see you again when your travel brings you to Roanoke so you can experience another comfortable home away from home stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Arrived during a softball and soccer tournament but overall, it was very quiet. Room was spacious and nice, better than expected. Came here for a church related issue, but really close to airport. Again, not an issue for me but might be for others.

Very close to shopping and food, anything from fast casual to casual full service. I love that the hotel has a bar and Starbucks coffee. Very convenient. Would stay here again if I come this way, but Hyatt has definitely been added to my preferred chains.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the opportunity to serve you during your travels for church. We are happy that you were able to enjoy some of the added amenities such as the onsite Starbucks and bar. We hope that your travel does bring you back and soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I chose this property over my normal go-to, Hampton Inn, because of location and price. I wasn't disappointed. The rooms are spacious, the location is convenient. The employees that I encountered were all very helpful. The hotel could do with a refresh (my couch was beat!) but overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for giving us the chance to hopefully bring your loyalty to the Hyatt Place during your travel to Roanoke. We are so happy to hear that you left more than satisfied when staying with us. In addition, I want to thank you for the feedback regarding our couch. We are in the beginning stages of a massive room renovation to improve these details in our guest rooms as you mentioned. We hope that you will come back and see the newly renovated hotel if your travel ever brings you back to Roanoke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

the property is beautiful, great staff with good personality-everybody were extremely nice-quick check in, huge and modern rooms, lots of shops and great restaurants near by. the breakfast was great, with large variety of food.got great deal from hotwire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so happy that we could meet your family’s needs during your travel to Roanoke. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our staff to show what a positive impact they made on your stay. We hope to serve your family again if your travel ever brings you back to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is your standard Hyatt Place, same layout, different city. It may have some age on it as the carpet was frayed and not as clean as I would like and the tile was stained. The room looked worn. The people are nice and welcoming and the prices are certainly good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for allowing us to serve you during your travel. I want to make you aware that we are in the planning stages of a large renovation to include updating all of our bathrooms and many other items in our guest rooms. We hope that we have to opportunity to serve you again after the renovations are completed on your next business trip to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Roanoke

Address: 5040 Valley View Blvd N, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location at Valley View Mall; 2 miles from the airport, 5 miles from downtown Roanoke & 25+ restaurants within a 1 mile. Complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius; including the airport.All rooms are suite style with living & sleeping areas, sofas, 42" HGTV, Free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel. Large indoor heated pool & fitness center. Complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport/Valley View Mall Hotel Roanoke
Hyatt Roanoke
Roanoke Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.