We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm, gives Hampton a run for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Roanoke to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Roanoke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5040 Valley View Blvd N, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Hmm, gives Hampton a run for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I chose this property over my normal go-to, Hampton Inn, because of location and price. I wasn't disappointed. The rooms are spacious, the location is convenient. The employees that I encountered were all very helpful. The hotel could do with a refresh (my couch was beat!) but overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for giving us the chance to hopefully bring your loyalty to the Hyatt Place during your travel to Roanoke. We are so happy to hear that you left more than satisfied when staying with us. In addition, I want to thank you for the feedback regarding our couch. We are in the beginning stages of a massive room renovation to improve these details in our guest rooms as you mentioned. We hope that you will come back and see the newly renovated hotel if your travel ever brings you back to Roanoke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    71
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
70
40
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

the property is beautiful, great staff with good personality-everybody were extremely nice-quick check in, huge and modern rooms, lots of shops and great restaurants near by. the breakfast was great, with large variety of food.got great deal from hotwire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so happy that we could meet your family’s needs during your travel to Roanoke. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our staff to show what a positive impact they made on your stay. We hope to serve your family again if your travel ever brings you back to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is your standard Hyatt Place, same layout, different city. It may have some age on it as the carpet was frayed and not as clean as I would like and the tile was stained. The room looked worn. The people are nice and welcoming and the prices are certainly good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for allowing us to serve you during your travel. I want to make you aware that we are in the planning stages of a large renovation to include updating all of our bathrooms and many other items in our guest rooms. We hope that we have to opportunity to serve you again after the renovations are completed on your next business trip to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was my last stop in a three day tour of the area. I got in after a very long day of driving. The check in was courteous and friendly, despite not mentioning my elite status (not that it matter much in a Hyatt Place, but my Diamond bonus points were not posted automatically after the stay). I declined the offered tour of the facility.

The hotel is situated next to a shopping mall with plenty of eating options in several minutes’ drive.

The room is a typical Hyatt Place room. What one would call a studio apartment with a living room, working area, bath room and a bed room, all connected with only the bathroom having a door. The room was comfortable and clean. In short the room was exactly one would expect. The only problem was that the air conditioning unit was quite loud.

Breakfast was a little of a letdown, although it did include hot and cold items. Variety was lacking; although what was there was indeed quite good.

All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to give your review. I want to apologize for the air conditioning being loud and disrupting your stay. We have been in the process of replacing our units to ensure this does not happen in the future with any of our guest. I also want to apologize for not having the amount of variety that you were looking for with our breakfast options. Comments such as this will help us look at areas that we can continue to improve on. Lastly, I want to make sure that you did get your bonus points. If we failed to do so please let me know and I will get them added as promptly as possible. We look forward to seeing you again if your travel ever brings you back to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay overnight when catching a flight out of Roanoke Airport. The rooms are spacious and clean, and breakfast is available, even if you are flying out early. If you prefer not to pay for parking and leave your car at ROA Airport, there is a free shuttle service to the terminal, which is only 1 mile away.

Located just around the corner from Valley View Mall, shopping is an option if you have time to kill. There are also several restaurants in the area if you need lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for such positive reviews. We are so happy to meet your needs for breakfast early in the morning and providing the shuttle for your flight out. We hope to see you again when you need to catch another flight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been in the hotel for one night on the 4th of july 2013 vacation. The place is nice and clean. The room is fairly big. The breakfast was really good with many variety, hot and cold. I will stay again if the hotel will be in the same condition.

One last thing is that we ask (when we checked in at 8:00pm) for the infant creb but this was not fulfilled and we all slept on the bed. may be this day was busy because of the 4th of july :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
First let me start off by apologizing for not meeting you needs with the crib for your young child. Although it was busy it is not an excuse to fail to meet you needs. In addition, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your travel needs during the 4th of July and the positive feedback you gave our hotel. It is our number one priority to stay in good condition and offer top notch service to each and every one of our guest. We look forward to seeing you again if your travel ever brings you back to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at many a Hyatt Place and in short the staff here was nice and accommodating however the physical plant needs attention. TV service is very poor and I communicated this to the staff and they visited the room to check the connection however the quality of the signal is the issue. The workout room was subpar in regards to the elliptical machine (built in TV channels not working, broken façade of the machine) as well an the HVAC was not working. They were busy with an event in town but these issues need attention ASAP before I stay or recommend again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd R, General Manager at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know about the issues that you encountered during your stay. We have repaired the TV and HVAC systems in the workout room. In addition, we did contact our provider for the in room TV issues that you experienced a technician has already came out and made the adjustments need to improve our overall signal in our rooms. I apologize that these issues came across during your stay with us and it is our hope that when you travel back to Roanoke that you give us another opportunity to give you the correct Hyatt experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Roanoke

Address: 5040 Valley View Blvd N, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location at Valley View Mall; 2 miles from the airport, 5 miles from downtown Roanoke & 25+ restaurants within a 1 mile. Complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius; including the airport.All rooms are suite style with living & sleeping areas, sofas, 42" HGTV, Free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel. Large indoor heated pool & fitness center. Complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport/Valley View Mall Hotel Roanoke
Hyatt Roanoke
Roanoke Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.