We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am very pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Roanoke to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Roanoke
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5040 Valley View Blvd N, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I am very pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I was leery when I pulled in and saw this is an older hotel converted into a Hyatt. I am very pleasantly surprised with the great amenities (free and good wi-fi, huge tv, spacious room, great customer service and reasonable rates.). If it were located in the downtown area it would be perfect. I would stay here again in a heartbeat - it's hands down better than Cambrian Suites!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are so glad you decided to stay with us & that you had a great experience. All Hyatt Place hotels offer the extra large rooms, big TVs & hopefully great customer service!

Our hotel is just a 5-10 minute drive to downtown; our location at Valley View Mall is close enough to be convenient while offering a lot of dining & shopping options right here.

We appreciate your positive comments & are pleased you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    69
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
68
40
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very courteous. The one of desk clerk drove the shuttle to get us from the airport. It is a very nice van with comfortable seating. She gave us an overview of where the shuttle would take us. The room has no wasted space-ladies three mirrors in the vanity area and one over the kitchen sink. Lol. The room has a couch with a large ottoman for seating or resting your legs. There is a large desk and a 42 inch (maybe) with connections to display for a laptop, cell phone, etc. The bed is very comfortable with different types of pillows. The room has a refrigerator. The bathing area is small. The vanity area is separate. the room has double curtains to darken it. The ahe/heat unit worked. I used the business center. the Internet connection was slow (had to print and the staff allowed me to print several pages). The room has free wireless access.

The swimming pool was an indoor heated pool. I couldn't smell the chlorine until I hung my swimmer to dry-that impressed me!! There are towels available at the pool. The breakfast buffet had fresh fruit, oatmeal, hot sandwiches, juices, milk, yogurt, cereal, French toast...everything. There is a small bar that serves different kinds of beers and wines. You are able to order hot food too. the lobby seating area is decorated with warm colors. The seats are comfortable. I was going to stay at aother hotel in the area. It was worth changing my mind. I walked to the mall and area restaurants like TGI Friday, Olive Garden, etc. I went downtown and am glad that I stayed in this area. There is much more to do. if gout are caught between that decision, pick ahe Valley View area. Remember that the shuttle will take you. If you have family there, then you won't need a shuttle. Now that you have the information, the decisionn making, process should be much easier. Good luck.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
What a GREAT review! Thanks for taking your time to share your experience & what all our hotel has to offer. It is in a perfect location; close enough to walk to Valley View Mall, restaurants, & shuttle service to downtown area.

You hit on every point that sets us apart from the other hotels; Hyatt Place Roanoke is the best choice while working or visiting in Roanoke.

We hope that you will stay with us the next time your travels bring you back to our area.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Place 2/08/13
expecting it to be pleasurable, was looking forward to it actually,,
Room was nice , fairly clean,
there was NO microwave in room,
Pillows were flat over used,not at all correctable
No complimentary tea or even a pack of instant hot chocolate mix, NOTHING
they wanted us to buy it,, REALLY ?? what happen to guest service, doupt they ever heard of that before,,
Our Stay at the ,Holiday Inn Express was a much better experience with folks that actually care about our comfort and not the all mighty dollar,,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We apologize for your unfavorable experience at our hotel last weekend.

We have a microwave in our lobby area for any guest to use; we do not have them in our guestrooms due to the lingering food smells that tend to stay after the guest departs.

The Hyatt standard is to have tea & coffee in the guest rooms; we also offer this in our bar area for a charge as you discovered.

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sidney, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were coming in town to attend a volleyball tournament that my daughter was playing in. The rooms were very clean and had lots of space. The breakfast was good but there could have been a little more variety. The indoor pool area was spacious and clean as well. I would not think twice about staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel. Our breakfast offerings are according to Hyatt's standards for the Hyatt Place hotels; every year they change it up a bit based on feedback from our guests.

Make your plans to stay with us if your travels or sports schedule brings you back to the Roanoke area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've stayed in Hyatt Place hotels in California and Florida. Stayed in this one driving south along the east coast and again on the northward journey.

What we like about Hyatt Place in general: large room with two comfy beds and a fold-out couch, good wifi, nice breakfast included, prices very reasonable
What we dislike about Hyatt Place in general: the bathroom (toilet and tub/shower) is TINY. Sink is outside.
What we like about this particular Hyatt Place: convenient location not far off the interstate, staff were pleasant and efficient

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to review our hotel; it is a great product & we are in a wonderful location for travelers needing a 1/2 way point from FL/GA to the New England area.

Plan to come back to see us on your next trip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Picked this hotel after having to stay an extra night on the road. It was originally a little more than what I wanted to spend but it had dropped in price prior to booking. I have stayed at many Hyatt Places in my travels and do quite a few repeat visits in some cities. Where to begin? Reserved a King room but they only had one available on the very top floor with shoddy internet connection or a room next to an elevator (profile states no elevator or ice machine) Kudos to the front desk guy for letting me know so I switched to a room with 2 doubles. I went out and grabbed some sushi and came back to my room and watched a little tv I was watching a channel that the volume wasn't great so I had to turn it up when I went to put it down the down volume wouldn't work no big deal I got up and manually turned it down. I then proceeded to try to get on the internet and had no luck so I called the front desk and they had support call me right up and got it working (My computer would not redirect to their browser for sign in which has never happened) Went to shower in the AM the water pressure was awesome but the shower was luke warm at best. I needed to be on the road so I didn't even bother complaining. Supposedly the Hyatt Places have rolled out a new breakfast with sandwiches and waffles and the like (at least that's what they had advertised in the hotel elevator) Unfortunately this hotel must not have got the memo. At every Hyatt I have stayed at the fruit selection is usually halfway decent in the am with bananas, oranges the green apples. This place had only green apples. When I left I went to check out They always have green apples in a basket. I went to grab one and they all had soft spots. I don't mean to pick on this place but for a Hyatt that usually rates high standards this hotel was a disappointment. If I wanted this kind of experience I could have stayed at a lower level chain.

Room Tip: Don't stay until they bring their standards up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
OH MY!
We apologize for the speed bumps you encountered while staying at our hotel. From your review it looks like we corrected a few of the issues while you were here but there were other things that were not up to the Hyatt Place standard.

Your review will be shared with our management team to let them know what you encountered.

Thank you for staying with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed there to catch an early morning flight. We requested a 3:45 am wake up. The wake up came at 1 am. I interrupted conversation at the front desk when I called to say we needed a awake up at 3:45 not the 1 AM we got. We got the 3:45 wake up (we were awake anyway--couldn't go back to sleep). Checking with the airline, I learned our flight had been cancelled. My fiance called the front desk to cancel the taxi pickup. On the second call, he counted 56 rings. He went to the front desk--NO ONE WAS THERE. He searched the first floor and found kitchen staff preparing breakfast (4:15 ish). One of the kitchen ladies accompanied him to the front desk and then she went out the front door..................we assume to find hotel staff. She did not return after a minute or two. We went down for breakfast at 6 am and saw only kitchen staff. The first signs of life for front desk staff was around 6:45. We left on the airport shuttle shortly before 7 never seeing anyone to tell that NO ONE WAS MINDING THE STORE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT. ANYTHING COULD HAVE HAPPENED.
Service is great during normal hours.........................thank God there were no emergencies when everyone was sleeping. This was our third stay here and we never had a problem, but then we have never been up in the middle of the night before. We will stay elsewhere when we have flights in/out of Roanoke.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience; we apologize that we did not deliver the standard of service that we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Roanoke

Address: 5040 Valley View Blvd N, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Roanoke 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location at Valley View Mall; 2 miles from the airport, 5 miles from downtown Roanoke & 25+ restaurants within a 1 mile. Complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius; including the airport.All rooms are suite style with living & sleeping areas, sofas, 42" HGTV, Free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel. Large indoor heated pool & fitness center. Complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport/Valley View Mall Hotel Roanoke
Hyatt Roanoke
Roanoke Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.