We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airline pilot review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5040 Valley View Boulevard North, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #12 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Airline pilot review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011 via mobile

Wonderful staff and clean room! Near the mall and a variety of restarunts! Shower squealed a bit but overall the room was great! Staff VERY friendly!! Only other thing is that I wish hot breakfast was included in the free buffet.. Would definitely recommend the hotel though!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Your comments go a long way; anyone in the airline industry spends more time in more hotels than any other occupation I know.

Our continential breakfast usually has 1 hot item daily; we do have hot items available to purchase. They range from waffles to omlets.

Thanks for staying with us & taking the time to post your conmments on Trip Advisor; we look forward to your next stay.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    58
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
49
36
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I was impressed with the cleanliness, spaciousness and size of our room with a view on the top floor. Great flat HDTV that swivels so you can view it from bed. Nice large sitting are with huge couch. Coffee machine was convenient. Amenities were nice (they provide toothpaste!) but need a shower cap for the shower. The soap smells a bit funky, some kind of ginger aroma that has more of an institutional scent to it, but I suspect that's a Hyatt thing. Will definitely return to this hotel, though. Great value and the staff were warm and friendly. Large breakfast available, will make hot food to order, but I didn't take advantage of it since we were in a hurry to check out in the AM. Great spot for staying to visit colleges with plenty of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel; the positive comments about our staff are welcomed & will be shared with them.

The hotel's amenities; you were correct the soap is a Hyatt thing & we can't change it. Most hotels have more amenities available at the front desk for items that travelers sometimes forget or are available by request; the shower cap falls into this catagory. We have them available at the front desk; again this is a Hyatt standard.

Our location & the size of our rooms make traveling with children of any age more comfortable. We are located at Valley View Mall & centrally located for several local colleges & universities.

We hope that you will stay with us again if you are back in the Roanoke area.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011 via mobile

What impressed me the most is that hotel staff. It was a rainy night in Roanoke so we decided to spend the evening in at the hotel. We enjoyed the pool and our time at the bar the bartender was fun to talk to knowledgable and even gave us great ideas for our next day in town. We enjoyed wine and an appetizer at the hotel bar all well prepared and a gret value.

The people at the desk were kind, helpful and knowledgeble. The room was clean and the setup was perfectly designed. The room was large with fridge, lArge screen tv, L shaped couch, desk two sings and a large shower.

The linens were clean, the decor classy and the bed was comfortable.

What impressed me the most is that hotel staff. It was a rainy night in Roanoke so we decided to spend the evening in at the hotel. We enjoyed the pool and our time at the bar the bartender was fun to talk to knowledgable and even gave us great ideas for our next day in town. We enjoyed wine and an appetizer at the hotel bar all well prepared and a gret value.

The breakfast in the morning Was also very good. It ws nice to eat off of real dishes and drink out of glasses that were not plastic.

When we return to Roanoke we will stay here. Kind people who are knowledgable, classy hotel, quality food, modern decor, clean, comfortable and priced well. A winner.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at our hotel; we have a great team & it is always nice to hear feedback from our guests. This is the only way we can improve our customer service which is the key factor in the hotel business.

We hope that you will stay with us on any return trips you might have in our area.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We've stayed at this Hyatt Place several times. It's our choice when we southwestern Virginia. Friendly staff, clean rooms, centrally located. Just off I-81, and a couple of minutes from downtown Roanoke.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Phillip944:
I am so glad you had a great experience at our hotel; we appreciate your positive comments & look forward to your next visit.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I took my girlfriend here for Valentine's Day weekend. The staff is amazing! Friendly and professional is only a start. The room is awesome. Spacious and modern. The hotel location is close to just abut anything you could want or need. We were very impressed and looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thnaks for the positive review!

We believe we have a great hotel with a staff that provides excellent customer service to all of our guests; it is always nice to hear that it is working.

We hope that you will visit our property again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Place this weekend as we were doing college tours with our daughter. We are a family of six and needed a hotel that could accomodate us in one room.
The Hyatt Place has suites that include 2 double beds and a seperate sitting area with a sectional that has a pull out sofa sleeper. The room was so large and well maintained. The room was spotlessly clean as well as the bathroom. We had plenty of space to spread out and do our own thing. They have 42 inch flat screen tv's in the room which is great when sitting on the sectional or laying on the beds. There is a wetbar area with a refrigerator which came in handy to keep drinks cold. The vanity area is seperate from the toilet and tub area. Again, plenty of space for two people to get ready in the morning while another is in the shower.
The free continental breakfast is a nice addition. They did have other hot items available for all meals of the day for an additional charge. We were able to satisfy ourselves with the free items, but there were many other guests that ordered the hot food items and it all looked good.
The kids played in the indoor pool and said the water was nice and warm. There are tables and chairs and loungers that we relaxed on while the kids were in the pool.
The staff was all very welcoming and friendly in all parts of the hotel. Everyone greeted us with a warm smile and friendly greeting.
If you are in this area and need a great place to stay at a reasonable rate, stay here. The hotel truly is just like the pictures on their site.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
We are so glad your family had a great stay with us! Traveling with a family of 6 is a challenge with having enough beds for everyone in just 1 room. The design of Hyatt Place is perfect for families traveling with more than 1-2 children; plenty of room to spread out.

We pride ourselves on the condition of our guestrooms & the customer service our staff delivers. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on Trip Advisor. We hope you if you return to Roanoke in the future you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Like all HP's I've stayed in, this place had a very comfortable bed. And like all HP's I've stayed in, the room layout is hugh but a little goofy.
The bath room here was a little old and the combination of a curtain and shower head that must have put out 5 GPM mad for a small flood.
A good choice if you're staying in Roanoke.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcamper, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Thanks for staying at the Hyatt Place while you were in Roanoke this past weekend! We hope you will stay with us again when you are in this area.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall

Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport/Valley View Mall Hotel
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport/Valley View Mall Hotel Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport
Roanoke Hyatt
Address: 5040 Valley View Boulevard North, Roanoke, VA 24012 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location at Valley View Mall; 2 miles from the airport, 5 miles from downtown Roanoke & 25+ restaurants within a 1 mile. Complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius; including the airport.All rooms are suite style with living & sleeping areas, sofas, 42" HGTV, Free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel. Large indoor heated pool & fitness center. Complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Roanoke Airport / Valley View Mall to your Saves list