We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice enough.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We booked this hotel on another website for $60. We have stayed here twice. The rooms were nice I loved the mini fridge and microwave. The hotel is near enough to downtown and a nice mall. The tanglewood mall is not the nice one I am referring too the Tanglewood mall is actually very small and has hardly anything in it. But if you go about 11 minutes there is a nicer and newer mall. The hotel isn't the nicest but is not bad for the price and star rating. The people at the front desk were friendly and could tell us about different activiities to do in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    71
    49
    18
    12
See reviews for
47
50
17
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

The room was clean with a mini fridge and microwave. Free internet access. Bath and Body works products in bathroom.

Spent most of my time in a conferance room. We had tons of coffee which was good and pastrys and bagels in the morning.

We ate EJ Landing at the hotel 2 nights. Food was OK not the best but overall it was good. Not sure where our lunches came from but they were good and filling.

Hotel staff nice and I had a cleaned room everyday.

Would recommend if you were traveling here for any reason.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

I stayed here for a weekend. The hotel is pretty nice. They had good breakfast spread Sunday morning. Room service was great, with very reasonable prices. They need better parking though- a few times it was raining and I got soaked through. Maybe build some sort of parking garage with levels and a walkway? But other than that it was great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We booked through Priceline with name your own price and got an excellent deal for a weekend stay while in the area to visit family. Staff were friendly and professional from check in to room cleaning. Room was average sized and featured a fridge and microwave. Recently remodeled and everything was clean. The bathroom was medium sized, but not uncomfortable. There was a massage setting on the shower head and the water flow was pretty good. The beds were very comfortable and I slept well. We stayed on the 4th floor in a corner room and it was very quiet in this location. The pool area was nice and clean, but there were no towels outside for pool use that I could find. I found this odd. This hotel has meeting/conference rooms and the one night we were there a graduation party was being held. The smoking area for the guests was outside towards the pool and there was a lot of activity in that area.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was good. They had bacon, eggs, toast, bagels, various cereals, biscuits and gravy, juice, coffee, milk, apples, bananas, french toast sticks, fried potatoes and it was buffet style. The server there was very nice. We paid $8, which included beverages and tax. The weekday rate was listed as $7. There are plenty of other dining options nearby. The hotel is right down the street from a small mall, so there is plenty of shopping nearby, as well.

I was very pleased with the hotel and our stay, especially since I got such a good price - it was half of the advertised rate. Awesome deal.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed on the 4th floor. Our room was probably renovated recently which was nice. But the A/C did not work properly. We could not get the fan to run continuously. When the A/C unit cycled off for a while we roasted. It was so stuffy and hot.

The front desk did not care and did not nothing to help us. We got this room through Priceline.com and I guess no one cared if we roasted.

The filter in the A/C Unit was filthy. Packed with dirt!!!

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

On a recent trip to Roanoke I had the pleasure to stay at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood in Roanoke. The new look was awesome. As always the staff went out of their way to make sure that what was starting out to be a "bad" trip turned around quickly. They made me feel welcome. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed here on a weekend trip for hubby's recertification -- grabbed a great deal on Priceline. Had a king sized no-smoking room; they let us check in three hours early, which was lovely, as well as the free wi-fi. Recently renovated, though if you're nitpicking, you'll find some finishes not quite up to par. It presents well, and is very nice -- the 'pillow menu' is an interesting tweak that we did not have the opportunity to try. The hotel has many amenities -- business center, outdoor pool, fitness center, onsite restaurant -- which we did not use, as well as a mall within reasonable (though not side-walked) walking distance. Had a small quibble with the check-in staff in that they did not point out where our room was or where the closest parking space was -- not a big thing, but I expected better from a full-service HI property. All in all, we would stay her again, especially given the price paid.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.