We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Holiday Inn - Tanglewood - ASA 16U Fastpitch Nationals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay at Holiday Inn - Tanglewood - ASA 16U Fastpitch Nationals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our team had a great stay at this hotel last week during our visit to Virginia to participate in the 16UA ASA Nationals. The location was centrally located to the 3 fields we played at.

I would especially like to give Kim a big thank you for helping us out with our various requests on information related to restaurants, laundry and site seeing destinations close by.

All staff was very friendly and helpful during our week long stay at this hotel.

Parking was abundant. Room quality was as expected based on pricing.

Wifi was available in and out, due to the amount of people always using it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suba11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Suba11,

Thank you so much for your candid feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during ASA tournaments. We look forwad hosting your team again next year.

I will produly share your review with Kim.

Regards,
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I got this room for a really good rate thru Hotwire. Never again!! The carpet leading to the room was filthy and stained, there was hair in the bed and all over the bathroom, there was toe nail clippings on the floor, etc. we had to complain first because they put use in a room with a king sized bed and a pull out sofa for 3 people. The mattress in the pull out was horrible. They moved us to a room with 2 beds then. That is where we found all the hair all over the bathroom floor and in the bed. We didn't notice in the bathroom at first so we complained about the hair in the bed and they changed the sheets. In the morning we noticed it all in the bathroom. YUCK!!! The pillows were like bricks...even the soft ones. The mattress was comfortable though. The staff was friendly and helped when they could but the hotel definately could be cleaned way better! I do not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Samantha W,

I am saddened to hear that your stay with us was less than desirable. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you in terms of 2 beds instead of just one. When booking through a third party, they usually sell first available room types, and nothing is guaranteed. I will definitely pass this onto our head housekeeper, this is not a trend for us. I hope that you will take that into consideration if ever you should have the option to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I am a new to the area and going to be travelling for business on a regular basis. I will be staying here whenever I come to Roanoke. Kim, Jana, and April were very helpful and extremely professional. My room was immaculate and the service was awesome. I will be back often.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Bob B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with the world your experience at our hotel. I am so glad to hear that you love it here just as much as we do! We take pride in having a great staff with smiling faces, and a will-do attitude. I am pleased that you will be staying with us more often. Stop by and talk with our sales team sometime. You'd be surprised what we can do for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I've stayed here twice for the Mysticon convention. The hotel is what you expect for this price level and the staff really IS exceptionally friendly. However, I had a complaint because with all the hoopla over getting parking passes for your windshield, I was unable to park in the lot despite seeing many cars without the printed passes. So they didn't do anything to enforce it and at least one overnight guest (me) had to park in the overflow lot. I also do not understand why people rave about the food. I think it ranges from below average to utterly mediocre. I don't expect better at a hotel restaurant, but people who say it's awesome must have been living in the boondocks too long.Love the bartenders, though. They do a really good job despite not having the equipment a real bar would have.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Julie M,

Thank you for your candid feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay during Mysticon. We are working very closely with Mysticon staff on making sure ample parking is available for hotel guest/s during Mysticon. We got lots of compliments during this past convention about how the parking was handled. Please accept our sincere apologies for your inconvenience.

We look forward to accommodate your lodging and parking needs for next year convention. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you have any concerns.

Thank you
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va beach
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The staff is very nice. They were all very pleasant to deal with. The outside and lobby have been updated. The halls and rooms not so much.
Our room had dirty walls and the TV was so old and had faded so much it was hard to watch.
The bed linens were old and worn out.
I do not know by what standards they measure beds but our room featured to QUEEN beds. Well maybe if you pushed them together!
Again staff was great but other than that I would probably try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Eric1963,

We are so glad to hear that our customer service met your expectation.

We are in process of changing our remaining two double beds to queen beds and also have schedule the renovation of other public area soon.

I can assure you that your next stay will be more comfortable.

Thank you
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Kim at the Front Desk is the BEST! Great service! Always very attentive and cordial. I have stayed at this location many times and I am very pleased. I am a business traveler and stay in a hotel 150 nights a year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ron M,

Along with Kim the entire team of Holiday Inn Tanglewood appreciate your feedback. We look forward serving you again during your next trip in Roanoke Va.

Thank you
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Very nice lobby with excellent staff at the front desk. From there, the rest is average, at best. Clean room with a comfy bed. Only have two complaints about this hotel. The shower pressure was not much more than a trickle. Nice, hot water, just not powerful enough for my liking. Also, there's not continental breakfast. I stay in hotels quite often and this is the first that I was provided the opportunity to eat IF I chose to pay the additional $8.95 (+tip for the waitstaff). I think the hundred dollars I invested in a place to sleep should include the breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank brettman_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear brettman,

We are glad you enjoyed our comfy bad and has pleasure to meet with our highly trained staff. I apologize for the mix up with room type.

We look forward to serve you again during your next trip.

Thank you
Rohan Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
2.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing