We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Roanoke Va.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Graham, North Carolina
1 review
“Holiday Inn Roanoke Va.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Kim at the Front Desk is the BEST! Great service! Always very attentive and cordial. I have stayed at this location many times and I am very pleased. I am a business traveler and stay in a hotel 150 nights a year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ron M,

Along with Kim the entire team of Holiday Inn Tanglewood appreciate your feedback. We look forward serving you again during your next trip in Roanoke Va.

Thank you
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    71
    49
    18
    12
See reviews for
47
50
17
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very nice lobby with excellent staff at the front desk. From there, the rest is average, at best. Clean room with a comfy bed. Only have two complaints about this hotel. The shower pressure was not much more than a trickle. Nice, hot water, just not powerful enough for my liking. Also, there's not continental breakfast. I stay in hotels quite often and this is the first that I was provided the opportunity to eat IF I chose to pay the additional $8.95 (+tip for the waitstaff). I think the hundred dollars I invested in a place to sleep should include the breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear brettman,

We are glad you enjoyed our comfy bad and has pleasure to meet with our highly trained staff. I apologize for the mix up with room type.

We look forward to serve you again during your next trip.

Thank you
Rohan Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour,IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The facade is new, but inside is still dated! If you are in a wheelchair, this is NOT the place for you. Why?

1. Bed too tall (try sitting next to your kitchen table
and then try to sit on the table using only your arms).
2. Room too small to maneuver within - too much furniture. Closet almost non-existant.
3. Not enough outlets for all the chargers and unreachable in wheelchair.
4. Room VERY far from entry - long way to go in a wheelchair over thick carpet.
5. Wheelchairs do not do well with pedestal sinks.
6. There must be 18" between door (latch side) and wall as one approaches the door. Here, 6".

Basically, they tried to turn a normal room into a wheelchair accessible one - it just doesn't work.

Also, note the comment above about the bed height. We stayed in 5 different hotels - 3 Holiday Inns or Express - on this trip and ALL of them had beds which were to high. This is a common problem and must be addressed!

Also, they have eliminated the complimentary breakfast but restaurant service and food is good.

Room Tip: If in wheelchair, call the specific hotel ahead of time and confirm "wheelchair accessible room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Douglas M,

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not upto your expectation. All Hotels has to follow ADA guidelines before we can call that room Wheelchair accessible.

I am glad to hear that you like our Restaurant and food.. we do offer one of the cheapest breakfast in town with an option to go for limited menu or All you can eat hot buffet which is highly recommended by all our guest.

We look forward to serve you again in near future.

Thank you
Rohan Patel
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Higgins Region, Chile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We are staying at Holiday Inn in Roanoke VA and just met their General Manager and what a blessing it was. Having issue connecting laptop to TV ? No problem. He ran home and got his Chromecast which is what we use at home. We are staying here for long time and needed Chormecast as we left ours at home and its not going to be delivered till tomorrow. I will never share mine with anyone but for Mr. Patel we are his heroes (as we are Holiday inn guest). Hotel itself is very clean and comfortable. Food is way better than other hotels we stayed in during our trip. We will highly recommend staying here.
Thank you Mr. Patel for helping us not miss our shows.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I had Kim at the front desk, and she was very professional, friendly, patient, and accommodating to my special needs, since I was traveling with my 1.5 year old son. I asked for to be able to check out a little later than the usual 12:00pm, and that was not a problem.

Thank you very much

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear ouJoshcsr,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to serve you again in near future.

Thank You
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

06/29/14 Janna at front desk was very pleasant and gave Kayla keys to let me in meeting room. The room was set right, and my box of supplies (shipped ahead) was in it. The only problem was that the extension cord supplied was missing a ground plug. I asked Kayla to have someone replace it and she said she would request one right away. About 10 minutes later, a man came with another surge suppressor, which I did not need. I showed him the orange extension cord and explained the missing ground plug problem. He said, “It will work.” I replied that I knew it would work, but that was it was a federal and state safety violation and the hotel could be fined by OSHA for it. I gave him a copy of the OSHA eTool on the subject and asked him to find me a new extension cord. He brought one back after about 10 minutes and I suggested he keep the printed copy of the OSHA information for future reference. The sleeping rooms are clean and updated. Mine had a fridge and a microwave. The temperature control unit was very quiet and worked well. My room was on the third floor and faced an old Blockbuster Video sign. The parking lot was quite clean, too, and the grounds were well-maintained. The Internet access is extremely unreliable and slow. I was kicked off several times and many guests complained. The restaurant staff gave me a to go cup for coffee without being asked. Ami from banquets was very courteous and showed me where to find the AC control for the room. The meeting room light is dim but there are window shades that can be opened. The old recessed fixtures were designed for incandescent lamps that all been replaced with CFLs and the light level isn’t what it should be. This could be fixed by using LEDs designed for the purpose and installing the proper dimmers.

Room Tip: If you need reliable Internet access, I suggest you stay elsewhere. If you're not fussy about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Professordoctorm...
Thank you so much for your great suggestions. We take your feedback very seriously and wanted to let you know that all issues you mentioned in your review has been addressed.

We are happy to enjoyed rest of your stay.

We look forward to serve you again in near future.

Thank you
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Honestly, I wasn´t expecting much….its a Holiday Inn. There wasn´t much to choose from in this city, so we went with familiarity. Well, it paid off. The hotel is probably due for a renovation, but considering that, it was really quite nice. It didn´t even have that old hotel smell that you´d expect when its ready for an update. It was clean, actually had nice sheets and a comfy bed. The only issue we had was with billing, but it was solved quick and very professionally.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Shawnnnalee,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are grateful that you enjoyed our new bedding. I will proudly share your review with my team. See you again shortly.

Regards,
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.