We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sucessful Renovations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sucessful Renovations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The last few time wehave stayed, the hotel has been undergoing much needed renovations. This timethey seemd to be relatively complete. VERY NICE stay and deal for the price. The breakfast was an added plus, and Steve went 'above an beyond' to ensure a "WOW!" experience.

As long as they offer deals and specials - this is the only place to stay in SW county, Roanoke, VA.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    61
    42
    16
    11
See reviews for
41
44
16
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel every year I am in the area for business. Check in was a little tricky. I was given a room that was already occupied by another guest. But the front desk made it up to me by giving me a free breakfast. I was not too happy with the situation I dealt within the restaurant as I am an owner of my own. Let's just start off by letting the owner of this hotel know that they should be blessed to have Glenford on staff! Without him I might of never returned. Thursday night ran smooth for our dinner. But when Friday came I felt a lot of negative energy within the establishment. I understand the restaurant is a separate entity from the hotel itself. I found this out after I made a complaint to the font desk. When the waitstaff is done their shift the bartender/restaurant manager takes over. At first I had thought he was taking all the tables from the waitstaff. With this being said there were several customer's waiting to be serviced. Some waited over a half hour. Eventually they got up and left, but not without making a complaint. 2 ladies behind me waited along time for just a house salad. And then they couldn't eat their meal without silverware. The bartender after being asked for silverware just threw it on their table and without an apology. It appeared he only waited on his regular's and we were left in the dust! And he had a very nasty attitude. With this recent experience I don't think I will visit this hotel ever again. And I will make sure to let all of my business friends know of this as well. Good luck to Glenford! He should be ranked the manager.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm so very sorry for the difficulty you experienced in our lounge. I have shared this review with our management team, and I have gone over this information with our wait staff. That includes Glenford! I sincerely hope you'll give us another chance and would love to discuss this with you further. Please call me anytime, I hope to see you again.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel room was large and well equipped for a comfortable stay. Two queen beds and room to walk around both of then with a desk, dresser and counter for the luggage that was convenient.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for you kind words! We are always so thrilled to host large events, and we are well equipped for it with over 10,000 sq feet of meeting space! I hope you had the chance to try the food in the Elephant Walk, our very own, locally owned restaurant and lounge! We can't wait to see you and your group again soon!!!

Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn in October whilst we driving the Blue Ridge Parkway from it's beginning at the end of Skyline Drive to it's culmination at Cherokee, NC. We had checked TripAdvisor before we left, and this was one of the top places to stay in Roanoke for one night. We wanted to eat close by or in the hotel and as this had a restaurant there, it was a natural choice. The room was very comfortable, spacious and fit our needs. It had a mini-fridge which was nice to have. The check in was smooth and the staff friendly. The only small down side, and it is a minor one was that the continental breakfast was a bite meager but since this was a full service hotel, the fact that they had a continental breakfast was pleasant. If you are driving The Blue Ridge Parkway and need a nice. Full service hotel for a great price, I would suggest this Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Our room in the back was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Being the closest full service hotel to the Blue Ridge Parkway is a blessing for us, we're always so excited to talk to our guests that have been traveling one of the most beautiful drives in America! I'm so glad you found us, and that we lived up to the billing you'd seen on the web! I'm also very glad that you enjoyed the Elephant Walk, our very own, locally owned restaurant! I hope we get to see you again soon, and that you enjoyed the rest of your trip as much as you did while you were here with us!

Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Grove, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

On check in there was a problem with our reservation, but Kellie and the manager, Rohan, assured us they were going to take care of us. They did with no hassles. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The restaurant served exceptionally good food and the best Rueben sandwich ever. The location is close to grocery stores should you need anything. Everyday the staff greeted us in the hallways and lobby. Can't think of any reason not to give this hotel a 5 rating!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you so much to taking the time to review your stay with us!! We're all so glad to hear that you had such a great time. It's nice to know that we're hitting on all cylinders when it come to service. I'm also very glad that you enjoyed the Elephant Walk, our very own, locally owned restaurant!!! Please come and see us again soon!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I visited Roanoke, VA to attend a business meeting, I definitely had a pleasant time in Roanoke really beautiful town and nice people of Corse. I made my reservation by calling this property because I don’t like dealing with automatic records when I called the local number of the hotel they answered my call within three rings so that was quick. They provided me good corporate discount and I saved good amount of money as well. When I arrived Roanoke there were holiday inn van waiting for me outside the airport and the driver was really kind man he helped me carry my luggage as well, we reach the hotel within 15 minutes. They knew that I was already tired after ling day so thy had my express check inn ready and I was in my room within five minutes. Hotel smelled really awesome and clean, staff was friendly and professional I was really happy to be there and on the top of that the front desk representative informed me about the restaurant and bar on the property I really had a pleasant time in this holiday inn. I would definitely recommend this property to all my friends and family who ever is visiting the Roanoke, Va. Holiday inn tangelwood you guys definitely rock!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our property, it's always nice to hear when we succeed on that kind of level! I will be sharing this review with our staff at our next meeting as an example of how to be ready for the guest every day. I'm also glad you enjoyed the Elephant Walk, our very own, locally owned restaurant and lounge. Did they mention they are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner!!!! I hope we get to see you again in the near future!!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, OH
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Bed was broken down, food in the restaurant was bad, breakfast was over-priced and awful, plumbing noises all night, and the room was excessively dry. Only redeeming asset is that the hotel was relatively convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway. Stay away from this hotel and stay somewhere else.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I'm so very sorry to here about the experience you had with us. We strive to deliver an outstanding service experience for every guest, every day, and it looks like we fell short this time. I hope we get a chance to make it up to you in the future. Please call me if you'd like to speak further about this.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.