We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our trip driving down the Blue Ridge Parkway. We did not have a reservation and stopped in to get a room. The young man and the front desk took care of us and was very helpful - I wish I could remember his name so i could have added it to this review. He was so helpful and talked to us about our trip down the blue ridge parkway. We were given a room on the 5th floor with a king bed and a nice flat panel television - the room was clean and comfortable. We also got free breakfast which was not bad...they had an omelet station, waffles, cereal, fruit, and toast along with scrambled eggs, hash browns, biscuits & gravy, and sausage and bacon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the parkway was a fun trip for you, we love seeing folks come in and talking to them about the drive. We just happen to be the closest full service hotel to the parkway as well! I hope the next time you stay with us you'll get the chance to eat in the Elephant Walk, our very own, locally owned restaurant and lounge!!! We all hope to see you again soon!

Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    79
    51
    24
    12
See reviews for
56
54
19
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Me and my family visited our friends and family in Roanoke, Va after long time so we were really excited and we made our reservation at Holiday inn Tangelwood Roanoke, Va. I noted so many things that caught my eyes. 1) when we called to check the rate the front desk representative picked up the phone within one ring it was like really quick I consider it professional, 2) front desk representative gave me all the information that I needed and she was really sweet and professional she didn’t even rush at all like other places she gave me her full attention, 3)when we arrived at the hotel staff help us out to carry luggage that was really kind, 4) front office was neat and clean and it was smelling fresh and amazing which really impressed me, 5) our room was at the 5th floor so we took the elevator and it was clean and hallways were really spotless and neat which was really nice. Last but not the least our room was really clean, bed was really comfortable and bathroom was clean. We went to the elephant walk restaurant in the same building and the food was amazing as well. Location is amazing and when we asked for the late check out they gave us late check out no one even knocked the door or called. I will give 10 out of 10 to this hotel. I wish every hotel was like this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed the hotel, we try every day to provide every guest with this kind of stay. We take pride in our hotel, and most of all the service we provide to our guests. Also it's nice to see you had the chance to enjoy the Elephant Walk Restaurant and Lounge, our very own, locally owned restaurant! I hope we get to see you again in the future!

Thanks again,
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Common areas have dirty, stained carpets, hotel bed is uncomfortable, toilet seat is stained, worn and should be replaced. Not worth the money. Had to stay here for work but never again. Overall appearance is good but look closer and run. I am not usually very picky as long as the hotel is clean with comfortable beds. This hotel had neither. I spend a significant amount of time traveling for work and would rather stay at the Holiday Inn Express than this full service Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I'm so very sorry to hear about the conditions you noticed in our hotel, this is not the kind of stay we strive so hard to provide for our guests. I would love to discuss this with you further, you're welcome to give me a call anytime and the desk will put you through to my cell.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We rolled into this place last night ; no reservations, and hungry. Of course, the hotel was full; trouble is so were all others in the area.

We know this because employee, Jessica, went out of her way-bent over backwards-went the extra mile - to find us a place, albeit in another city, but we were able to find a nice place within an hour drive.

Honestly, we must have looked pitiful, because she was so kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Did not see inside rooms here, but lobby was really nice so I assume rooms are also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We take great pride in the job we do here, and it's nice to hear some feedback that says we're delivering on the promise of excellent service! Jessica is a valued asset to us, and I will make sure she sees a copy of this review! I'm sorry that you weren't able to stay with us, but I trust we'll see you again in the future!

Travel Safe, and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I recently stayed here for a weekend conference and found the accommodations to be great. The building had a recent makeover and everything was updated and comfortable. They didn't spend money to replace the beds, which was the only downside to the stay. Staff were incredibly attentive, the hotel was clean, the rooms were nice and it was central to plenty of places to grab something to eat or shop.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us!! We're so glad you enjoyed your time spent here, and I hope the conference went well!! I hope we get to see you again soon!!!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stay at this hotel every year I am in the area for business. Check in was a little tricky. I was given a room that was already occupied by another guest. But the front desk made it up to me by giving me a free breakfast. I was not too happy with the situation I dealt within the restaurant as I am an owner of my own. Let's just start off by letting the owner of this hotel know that they should be blessed to have Glenford on staff! Without him I might of never returned. Thursday night ran smooth for our dinner. But when Friday came I felt a lot of negative energy within the establishment. I understand the restaurant is a separate entity from the hotel itself. I found this out after I made a complaint to the font desk. When the waitstaff is done their shift the bartender/restaurant manager takes over. At first I had thought he was taking all the tables from the waitstaff. With this being said there were several customer's waiting to be serviced. Some waited over a half hour. Eventually they got up and left, but not without making a complaint. 2 ladies behind me waited along time for just a house salad. And then they couldn't eat their meal without silverware. The bartender after being asked for silverware just threw it on their table and without an apology. It appeared he only waited on his regular's and we were left in the dust! And he had a very nasty attitude. With this recent experience I don't think I will visit this hotel ever again. And I will make sure to let all of my business friends know of this as well. Good luck to Glenford! He should be ranked the manager.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Thesoupnazi88,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastover, South Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently held an event at this hotel. The staff was great to work with except our Event Manager. Loading in and out wasn't easy as there were steps to deal with at every door near the ballroom. The sleeping rooms were great and the food in the restaurant was great. The location is close to restaurants and shopping. Everyone on the staff was great but the one person. However, due to the attitude of the Event Manager and loading problems we won't be back. We return to Roanoke in 2014 but it'll be at the Holiday Inn Valley View. Their Convention facility has level access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I'm so glad that you took the time to review our property! And I'm very sorry about the challenge you experienced with the entry ways. I would love to talk to you more about this, you are welcome to call me at any time. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed the Elephant Walk Restaurant and Lounge, our very own, locally owned dinner and watering hole! We do hope to see you again, and thank you again for your kind words.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.