We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Christiansburg, Virginia
1 review
“Great place for an event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We use the Holiday Inn, Tanglewood for an event that is held annually. This was the 4th year in using this location and they continue to provide excellent service to us each year. We take over their lobby, their hallway, their meeting rooms for workshops, and their ballroom for the evening before and the entire next day. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating, which is why we continue to use them year after year. They also provide boxed lunches for our event, and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your continued loyalty. We greatly appreciate the time you took to tell others about your experiences with us over the years! We're always so excited with we see you and your group come to stay with us! I will pass this along to the staff in the Elephant Walk Restaurant and Lounge as well, as i'm sure they are going to be pleased to hear from you also!

Thank you again,
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    62
    42
    16
    11
See reviews for
41
44
17
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked over 30 rooms at this joke of a hotel for my wedding guests who were coming in from out of town. Even at the discount of 89 a night, they made well over 2,500 dollars from this. They managed to book our suite we were staying in that was supposedly "reserved" for us back in March and told us they didn't know what to tell us, 2 nights before our wedding. Then, I get a call from some frantic guests saying there was no shuttle scheduled to take them to the wedding. I still had emails from the group coordinator confirming my 2 shuttles at 3, so I call and of course she doesn't work Saturdays. The lady at the desk tells me the manager will call me, and it is 2 at this point. 2:45 comes, still no call. I call back, and she says she can't help, and somehow magically the manager appears. He says they had one at 2:45, not two at 3. In so many words, I tell him he better come up with two after he says he has to leave a VM for the coordinator first. They scrounge up two shuttles and my guests arrive at 3:30. Perfect. We go back to the hotel, and they say the suite was cancelled so we can have it. We sign a receipt for 89 dollars and our account is charged 120. After a call, that was refunded as well. This was literally the only stressful thing about wedding planning, and I will never recommend this horrible hotel to anyone. They need better management and to deliver on their commitments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I'm so sorry that you had such difficulty while you were with us. I know wedding planning can be stressful and I'm never pleased to see comments like this. I am glad however that it seems that each issue that came up was able to be resolved, though I know that doesn't erase the issue entirely, I am happy to see that everything else went so well.

Congratulations on your marriage.
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here because it was close to where our son and his family live. Cost was a little more than what we like to pay but overall everything was good. Close to shopping and restaurants. Was very comfortable (we had a 2 queen bed unit w/tv, microwave, & small fridge. Could keep an eye on our vehicle parked in front which was good. We would stay here again and would also recommend it. Also has the Elephant Walk restaurant associated w/it open to public. Nice, Had drinks in lounge during happy hour 4 to 6:30. Also appreciated being able to get my points for being a Priority Club Member.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor in the front so had a fairly nice view. Elephant Walk restaurant was in the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and our staff in the Elephant Walk will be pleased to see that you had time to stop in and see them also. Please come see us again next time you're in town.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

..We have stayed at The Holiday Inn Tanglewood Roanoke Virginia for a number of years. they are Pet Friendly this is very important to us as we have a Petite Minature 8 lb Female Dachshund Our Pride and Joy. The rooms are excellent , comfortable and completely to your needs.Service , Front Desk, Housekeeping,Maintenance, Restaurant Staff Great.....Always friendly , great smile, call you by name ,this is so important A Special Thank you To PAT Wright and his Entire Staff. To Our Very Special Friends in the restaurant Matthew, Steven, and Robert Thank You for taking such good care and Feeding Us So Well. Gracie says Thank You, Thank You.. We Are Looking forward to our upcoming stay in September. Your Friends in Petersburg,.

Room Tip: We are extremely pleased in every respect, looking forward to our up coming stay in September.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks so much for reviewing our property, and for being such a loyal customer. We truly can't wait to see you again soon! And yes, we love our little fury friends as well. I will share your kind words with our staff in all the departments and let them know how much you appreciate them. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in September!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for the location which was as promised - about 2ish miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway. It was adequate for one night but we wouldn't have stayed for two nights. Our room was one of the updated rooms including an HDTV. The bed was comfortable enough. I had to ask the front desk for pillow cases for the extra pillows in our room. No big deal but still. Unfortunately we had to call maintenance at 9:30 at night because the toilet wouldn't stop running. Maintenance did show up within 20 minutes and "fixed" it. We did not flush it all night for fear we'd be listening to it all night. In the morning it wasn't working again. We were woken up early with someone running on the treadmill. The fitness center opens at 5:30 a.m. and our room was directly next to it. All I could hear after that time was the treadmill! Ugh! Pool area is in need of a major cleaning and new furniture. If you want to sit outside in the evening bring bug spray. The mosquitos and no-see-um's destroyed us! The same black Lexus SUV was parked in the front alcove the entire time we were there which made loading and unloading a pain.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor next to the fitness center. We were in room 215 and as soon as the fitness cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our property and letting us know how we can improve. I'm glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay, the HDTV's are a new addition we added along with the recent renovation to the property. I'm so sorry about the issue with the toilet, thank you for bringing that to my attention, we've repaired it and it shouldn't be a problem again. As you mentioned we are the closest full service property to the Blue Ridge Parkway and we offer the best views of the Blue Ridge Mountains anywhere is the city. Hopefully we get to see you again in the future, and thank you again for letting us know how you enjoyed your stay!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roanoke
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After poor planning when I arrived in Roanoke to visit friends. I could not find a hotel that would rent without a credit card. Luckily, when I spoke with Jessica she was able to rent me a room using my id and a cash deposit. She was truly wonderful. All the staff were polite and courteous.I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The only complaint that I had was the trash dumpster being dumped at 5:30 am on a Saturday morning since I am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I'm so glad that you took the time to review our property and let us know how your stay was. I know it's hard sometimes to find a hotel that will accept a cash paying guest, but I'm glad you stumbled on to us. Jessica was so excited about your review, and I've shared this review with our management team. I'm sorry about the trash truck that early, I have called the removal company and straightened that out. Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to let us and others know how we're doing!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Maybe I have been in too many Holiday Inns because I have started to compare carpets. This one has the cleanest so far. One thing I hate is dirty or worn carpets and in some HIs the carpets are so dirty you try and walk round the edges. The rooms are fine, good air cond., beds small, bathroom good. Restaurant fine and the staff are courteous and friendly. Our waiter was a very nice Tamil from Kerala. Food was really quite good. Overall, nice hotel. Everything a weary traveller needs. Good price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll return again soon! Our carpets are new actually, just like the rest of the property (we just finished a renovation product that updated the entire hotel and restaurant). Thanks again for your kind words, travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.