We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here due to the proximity to the BR Parkway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stayed here due to the proximity to the BR Parkway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for the location which was as promised - about 2ish miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway. It was adequate for one night but we wouldn't have stayed for two nights. Our room was one of the updated rooms including an HDTV. The bed was comfortable enough. I had to ask the front desk for pillow cases for the extra pillows in our room. No big deal but still. Unfortunately we had to call maintenance at 9:30 at night because the toilet wouldn't stop running. Maintenance did show up within 20 minutes and "fixed" it. We did not flush it all night for fear we'd be listening to it all night. In the morning it wasn't working again. We were woken up early with someone running on the treadmill. The fitness center opens at 5:30 a.m. and our room was directly next to it. All I could hear after that time was the treadmill! Ugh! Pool area is in need of a major cleaning and new furniture. If you want to sit outside in the evening bring bug spray. The mosquitos and no-see-um's destroyed us! The same black Lexus SUV was parked in the front alcove the entire time we were there which made loading and unloading a pain.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor next to the fitness center. We were in room 215 and as soon as the fitness cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our property and letting us know how we can improve. I'm glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay, the HDTV's are a new addition we added along with the recent renovation to the property. I'm so sorry about the issue with the toilet, thank you for bringing that to my attention, we've repaired it and it shouldn't be a problem again. As you mentioned we are the closest full service property to the Blue Ridge Parkway and we offer the best views of the Blue Ridge Mountains anywhere is the city. Hopefully we get to see you again in the future, and thank you again for letting us know how you enjoyed your stay!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    58
    35
    15
    10
See reviews for
32
42
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roanoke
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After poor planning when I arrived in Roanoke to visit friends. I could not find a hotel that would rent without a credit card. Luckily, when I spoke with Jessica she was able to rent me a room using my id and a cash deposit. She was truly wonderful. All the staff were polite and courteous.I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The only complaint that I had was the trash dumpster being dumped at 5:30 am on a Saturday morning since I am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I'm so glad that you took the time to review our property and let us know how your stay was. I know it's hard sometimes to find a hotel that will accept a cash paying guest, but I'm glad you stumbled on to us. Jessica was so excited about your review, and I've shared this review with our management team. I'm sorry about the trash truck that early, I have called the removal company and straightened that out. Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to let us and others know how we're doing!

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Maybe I have been in too many Holiday Inns because I have started to compare carpets. This one has the cleanest so far. One thing I hate is dirty or worn carpets and in some HIs the carpets are so dirty you try and walk round the edges. The rooms are fine, good air cond., beds small, bathroom good. Restaurant fine and the staff are courteous and friendly. Our waiter was a very nice Tamil from Kerala. Food was really quite good. Overall, nice hotel. Everything a weary traveller needs. Good price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll return again soon! Our carpets are new actually, just like the rest of the property (we just finished a renovation product that updated the entire hotel and restaurant). Thanks again for your kind words, travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wi.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Old hotel, but updated nicely. Rooms good size. Bed & bathroom very clean. Nice outdoor pool. Staff very nice. Received free breakfast with softball team. It was the same thing everyday! Would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hopefully we get to see you again in the future! And I'm so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I know that travel with sports teams can be stressful, but I'm glad to see that we delivered at outstanding stay for you and your team! Good luck in the future and please travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The condition of the motel was very good, but the staff is what made my stay as pleasant as it was. I feel like I've made two new friends who I hope to see again. Matthew Thomas was a very pleasant, friendly and helpful gentleman. I looked forward to seeing him each of my five mornings in Roanoke. Mr. B provided plenty of hospitality and entertainment in the Elephant Walk each evening. Overall, every member of the staff was pleasant, courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We just finished a complete renovation of our property, and we're excited about the new product we offer, but what we pride ourselves on is our service. I'm so very pleased that Matthew and B were able to deliver such an excellent time for you. I will be sharing this review with them personally and look forward to seeing you again soon as well! Please travel safe, and thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

we were on motorcycles on the Blue Ridge Parkway,this is at mile marker 121.9 .it was chilly, wet and we were tired and found this place,they let us park our Bikes under the over hang in front and found them to be friendly, and polite,the room was very clean, went out of there way to help, visiting from Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Bill L,
Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know how your stay with us was. We love our bikers, and we always try to make them feel at home here with us. I hope you enjoyed your time on the Blue Ridge Parkway, did you know that we are the closest full service property to the Parkway? I hope you got the chance to try our restaurant.

Please ride safe, and come see us again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stopped here again after a not so good experience and was very pleased to find the hotel back up to Holiday Inn standards. Everything was perfect and staff was super!!!! Do stop here when in Roanoke and you will be very well taken care of if you get the same great service I received.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for giving us another shot at providing the kind of service you deserve. We're all very excited to see that you came back and were willing to let us show you how we've improved upon our product and services! The entire hotel is new, and the renovation is done! Please let me know if you plan to come back, we would love to see you again soon!

Thanks again! Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Holiday Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn
Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#14 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.