We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

we were on motorcycles on the Blue Ridge Parkway,this is at mile marker 121.9 .it was chilly, wet and we were tired and found this place,they let us park our Bikes under the over hang in front and found them to be friendly, and polite,the room was very clean, went out of there way to help, visiting from Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Bill L,
Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know how your stay with us was. We love our bikers, and we always try to make them feel at home here with us. I hope you enjoyed your time on the Blue Ridge Parkway, did you know that we are the closest full service property to the Parkway? I hope you got the chance to try our restaurant.

Please ride safe, and come see us again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    71
    49
    18
    12
See reviews for
47
50
17
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stopped here again after a not so good experience and was very pleased to find the hotel back up to Holiday Inn standards. Everything was perfect and staff was super!!!! Do stop here when in Roanoke and you will be very well taken care of if you get the same great service I received.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for giving us another shot at providing the kind of service you deserve. We're all very excited to see that you came back and were willing to let us show you how we've improved upon our product and services! The entire hotel is new, and the renovation is done! Please let me know if you plan to come back, we would love to see you again soon!

Thanks again! Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The rooms were like most other Holiday Inn's, comfy, but nothing fancy. Everything was clean, and the staff were very friendly. We dined at the restaurant, and it was very good with reasonable prices. The kids also enjoyed the pool. All in all, it was a nice weekend getaway. Next time I think we'll stay closer to downtown, though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us and for letting us and others know how your stay was. We enjoyed having you and your family with us for the weekend, and I'm glad the weather held out so you could enjoy our pool. Our restaurant staff will be excited to hear that you were pleased with the food and service there as well. Also, we do provide a free shuttle service to local dining and events upon request, so if you're looking to go downtown we may be able to help you out there.

Thanks again, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

On my journey to Roanoke the A/C went out in the car, approximatey 200 miles in 95 degree heat. When we arrived at the hotel we inquired about a place to purchase some freon. The front desk Manager, PAUL WRIGHT exceeded our expectations when he suggested he could send his maintenace engineer, DENNIS RICHARDSON to purchase some on our behalf. We were over joyed that they offered to help us. Dennis went and purchased freon for the car. My friend and I are both women 50 years old so you can imagine....

I am not sure what Pauls current employment status is, but if I managed that property I would promote him above his peers. His willingness to help two older women obviously in distress was above and beyond any service I have received. (being ex military I have travelled quite extensively).

To the owners of Holiday Inn you have a loyal customer for life. To my fellow travellers...If you ever go to Roanoke stay at this Holiday Inn. Tell Paul, Trish sent ya!

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are in a separate wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review of your stay with us. I'm so glad that we I and Dennis had the opportunity to assist you, I only with the freon had fixed the issue. We take pride in our service here at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood, and it's nice to know that we're delivering on our promise to provide excellent service to each guest, every day. Thank you again for your kind words, and hopefully we'll get to see you again soon!

PS. I hope you were able to get the ac repaired, because it didn't get any cooler the next day, travel safe, and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We managed to find this hotel for a cheap rate while driving across the country, and it was totally worth more than we paid! The room was very well furnished and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful during both check-in and check-out. We didn't get to use the amenities, but they was an outdoor pool. A little disappointed that breakfast was not included, but it was around $8, which is pretty reasonable for a buffet. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us, and for letting us know how we're doing!
I'm very pleased that the staff was so helpful, and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We do offer a free continental to our IHG Rewards Members Monday-Friday, but the buffet is an awesome alternative for those who are looking for a full breakfast. Hopefully the next time you're here you'll get to swim in the pool.

Thanks again
I hope the rest of your trip went as well as it did here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's is a pretty standard good Holiday Inn, clean comfy and quiet rooms. The staff were all great, from the reception desk to the shuttle driver. It is some way out of town so not very convenient for downtown activities, but the shuttle makes up for that. I think it is popular with people visiting some of the medical facilities nearby. There were lots of locals in the bar, and although we did not eat there, the bar food looked pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to review us. I'm sad that you didn't get to try the Elephant Walk Restaurant and Lounge, but it's nice to see that the staff was so impressive. We take great pride in offering the best service to each and every guest, and it's nice to see that we deliver on that promise! I hope you'll get the chance to stay with us again soon!

Thanks again
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite and were very pleased with the room. Our dinner was great, service was fantastic. The bartender was great. Breakfast was great and the service was great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us, and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your time here. I'm most pleased to see that you enjoyed the Elephant Walk Restaurant and Lounge, the staff there works especially hard to make sure everyone walks out happy! I will be sharing this information with them at our upcoming meeting and let them know how pleased you were with their service!

Thanks again
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.