We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We managed to find this hotel for a cheap rate while driving across the country, and it was totally worth more than we paid! The room was very well furnished and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful during both check-in and check-out. We didn't get to use the amenities, but they was an outdoor pool. A little disappointed that breakfast was not included, but it was around $8, which is pretty reasonable for a buffet. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us, and for letting us know how we're doing!
I'm very pleased that the staff was so helpful, and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We do offer a free continental to our IHG Rewards Members Monday-Friday, but the buffet is an awesome alternative for those who are looking for a full breakfast. Hopefully the next time you're here you'll get to swim in the pool.

Thanks again
I hope the rest of your trip went as well as it did here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    87
    53
    26
    12
See reviews for
57
63
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bungendore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's is a pretty standard good Holiday Inn, clean comfy and quiet rooms. The staff were all great, from the reception desk to the shuttle driver. It is some way out of town so not very convenient for downtown activities, but the shuttle makes up for that. I think it is popular with people visiting some of the medical facilities nearby. There were lots of locals in the bar, and although we did not eat there, the bar food looked pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to review us. I'm sad that you didn't get to try the Elephant Walk Restaurant and Lounge, but it's nice to see that the staff was so impressive. We take great pride in offering the best service to each and every guest, and it's nice to see that we deliver on that promise! I hope you'll get the chance to stay with us again soon!

Thanks again
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite and were very pleased with the room. Our dinner was great, service was fantastic. The bartender was great. Breakfast was great and the service was great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us, and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your time here. I'm most pleased to see that you enjoyed the Elephant Walk Restaurant and Lounge, the staff there works especially hard to make sure everyone walks out happy! I will be sharing this information with them at our upcoming meeting and let them know how pleased you were with their service!

Thanks again
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Easy to get to...pets allowed, though the fee is an astronomical $35!!! Building is under renovations. Room was quiet. I had three small bites on me when I woke in the morning, I do not want to speculate as to their origin. Erin, at the front desk was very pleasant. If you are not advised, Priority club breakfast is up on the 5th floor, and minimal.

Room Tip: All pet rooms are on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for your time in reviewing our property. We love having guests bring their pets, and hope that you'll stop by with us again next time you're in town. Erin with be excited to hear that he made your stay a little more comfortable. We do offer a free continental to our IHG Rewards Members Monday-Friday, as well as a spectacular buffet in our restaurant!

Thanks again for your time,
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here twice in June and both times it was good. The room was nice and the check in was friendly and efficient. The lounge and restaurant were not bad but perhaps a bit below typical Holiday Inn. It seemed a bit understaffed. Overall a good experience however.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's nice to see that the staff impressed you, we pride ourselves on providing excellent service for each and every guest that stays with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks again
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room was comfortable, and the only two things I was disappointed about was the lack of help in cancelling an on-line prepaid room I didn't need (Other hotels worked with me when our daughter had to cancel) and that the ice maker didn't work on the fifth floor. Other than that, the room was comfortable and reasonably dark at night. The parking is pretty inadequate, at least on weekends. I would stay there again, though, because at $54 per night it was great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. It's nice to hear that you were comfortable while you were here, we strive to create an atmosphere that provides clean and pleasant experience for each and every guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks again!
Travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel is clean, but showing signs of age. Most ice machines did not work on our side of the hotel. The one that did work made an annoyingly loud noise that had to disturb guests in rooms near the machine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our property. We value all guest feedback and are excited each time we hear from our guests. I'm sorry about the problem you had with the ice machine, and that is being looked into. I'm glad to see that the hotel was cleaned to your standards as this is an area that we have spent countless hours training in the past years, it's nice to see that paying off. I hope that you get to stay with us again soon, and would love to speak to you further.

Thank you again,
Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.